Easy Slow Cooker French Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Sadly, I was disappointed. I followed the recipe initially but found there was real lack of flavor. I ended up adding garlic, salt, pepper, thyme and bay leaf. The broth just didn't pack enough punch. It needed more depth perhaps using beef consomme would have been better? The beef itself was bland. I added salt to the beef once it was on the bun. I toasted the buns which was nice and melted provolone as well. My family always comments on new recipes but no one said anything about this; nothing. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Im making this for a second time, so good! I also added Kitchen Bouquet and garlic. I omited the beer (I didn't have any). What an easy wonderful dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I love this recipe in my crockpot. I leave out the beer and add mushrooms and sliced onions. I serve it with provolone cheese under the broiler with a horseradish mayo sauce on the hoagie rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CariCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This recipe is easy and delicious. It is now a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I was quite surprised by this! After reading all the reviews and the modifications people did to it, I was worried that if I didn't make any changes it might not be as good. But I followed the recipe exactly as stated, used a New Castle for the beer, and it was YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
So good!!! my husband loved it so much and said this is one of his new favorite meals. I used a chuck Roast, added a little garlic salt, and onion salt, mushrooms, minced garlic, and dried French onion mix. I put provolone on the bread and used the broiler to melt it. Will definitely be making this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Depending on what is in the freezer, I vary between a sirloin tip as it easily slices easier than other cuts, and a chuck roast which imparts more flavor. I season my roast the evening before with a mix of garlic and onion powder, fresh ground black pepper and kosher salt letting it absorb the flavors. Add to the crockpot in the morning, along with the other ingredients and darkest syrup beer you can find and you're in business! As other reviewers have noted, slicing the beef and adding back to the crockpot WITH the juices allows it to absorb more flavor. You just can't go wrong with this recipe! Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Elliott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
The flavor of this roast was so good! I used a dark porter beer. Ours actually fell apart so couldn't slice it & ended up just shredding it.. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 2,496) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Make this easy French dip in your slow cooker.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States