Easy Slow Cooker French Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
The meat was like pot roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
So disappointed! This was so bland. I seasoned my rump roast with salt, pepper and garlic powder then followed the recipe as written and after realizing how tasteless it was I added some beef boullion, onion powder and fresh garlic. Still pretty boring. Not sure what I did or didn't do - but will not try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I wanted to be able to slice the meat, not shred it so I used a sirloin tip roast. That worked well. It was tender and delicious. I was disappointed in the jus though. I followed some of the other users suggestions and used 2 cans of beef consume, a packet of dried onion soup mix, and 1 teaspoon Worcestershire. But I thought it needed a little more onion tang flavor. I'll try the french onion soup in a can next and see if that's the ticket. Other than that is was very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
family loved it...i used cream of mushroom soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Easy is an understatement but so good! I did not realize we ran out of beer and I used chicken broth instead. At first, I was worried it might be too salty with 3 different broth/soups, but it turned out really good after all. Thank you for such a simple but delicious French dip recipe. I have been looking around for one for a while now and i think I have found THE one for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Ummmm-mazing! I'm not even a fan of french dips! Bits of advice-- It took longer for my beef to cook. Well, I did a full 7 1/2 hrs, and then put it in another 1/2 hr after slicing. I seasoned the beef with what I had on hand-- onion powder, garlic powder, salt, pepper, parsley & threw several shakes of worchestershire sauce into it. Used regular beef broth, condensed french onion soup, an amber beer. Slice the beef THIN!!! I didn't' put butter on our buns, and it was still amazing. I served it with a dipping sauce that I thought was mind-blowing. Just grabbed some of the broth from the crock pot, and added a squeeze of japanese wasabi and a couple of splashes of red wine vinegar. Everyone was in LOVE This is a big-time keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I made this for supper tonight, I used New Belgium 1554 beer, 1 10oz. can of Beef Consumme, 1 clove of garlic, and pepper. I sauted onions and mushrooms, toasted buttered kaiser rolls with provolone cheese melted under the boiler. I sliced the roast two hours before dinner and turned the slow cooker to low. The meat was immersed in the juice, it was a superb dinner and so easy to make. It was added into the rotation of dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I tried this recipe with beef consommé and French onion soup as some reviewers had suggested. It was pretty flavorless and unimpressive. My family would not eat this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Absolutely wonderful! I've made this several times and have never been disappointed. I use only about 8 oz of a dark beer (really makes the au jus terrific). I add the following seasonings to the roast before cooking: minced garlic, black pepper, Worcestershire, and a dash or Kitchen Bouquet. When the roast is finished I remove from the cooker and let it rest before slicing. After I slice it, I dip the meat back into the cooking liquid of the crock. Then I lift it out with a slotted spoon onto sliced french bread that are arranged on a baking sheet. I add provolone cheese to the top and slide under the broiler until the cheese begins to brown. Strain the au jus and you are ready to eat. Garlic steak fries are good served with this meal. This is favorite meal in my household! I love making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
My husband and I strictly abstain from alcohol. So when I first saw this recipe I was ready to pass it over. however, when I read the review this said a Teetatoler cannot tell the presence of alcohol I thought I would go ahead with it. I used Foster's beer,after it had cooked for seven hours my husband walked in, took a bite and said, "does this have beet in it?" That being said he absolutely loved it. It really was a delicious, however I don't think I'll make it again due to the alcohol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 2,471) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Make this easy French dip in your slow cooker.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States