Easy Slow Cooker French Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I made this for supper tonight, I used New Belgium 1554 beer, 1 10oz. can of Beef Consumme, 1 clove of garlic, and pepper. I sauted onions and mushrooms, toasted buttered kaiser rolls with provolone cheese melted under the boiler. I sliced the roast two hours before dinner and turned the slow cooker to low. The meat was immersed in the juice, it was a superb dinner and so easy to make. It was added into the rotation of dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I tried this recipe with beef consommé and French onion soup as some reviewers had suggested. It was pretty flavorless and unimpressive. My family would not eat this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Absolutely wonderful! I've made this several times and have never been disappointed. I use only about 8 oz of a dark beer (really makes the au jus terrific). I add the following seasonings to the roast before cooking: minced garlic, black pepper, Worcestershire, and a dash or Kitchen Bouquet. When the roast is finished I remove from the cooker and let it rest before slicing. After I slice it, I dip the meat back into the cooking liquid of the crock. Then I lift it out with a slotted spoon onto sliced french bread that are arranged on a baking sheet. I add provolone cheese to the top and slide under the broiler until the cheese begins to brown. Strain the au jus and you are ready to eat. Garlic steak fries are good served with this meal. This is favorite meal in my household! I love making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
My husband and I strictly abstain from alcohol. So when I first saw this recipe I was ready to pass it over. however, when I read the review this said a Teetatoler cannot tell the presence of alcohol I thought I would go ahead with it. I used Foster's beer,after it had cooked for seven hours my husband walked in, took a bite and said, "does this have beet in it?" That being said he absolutely loved it. It really was a delicious, however I don't think I'll make it again due to the alcohol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Made this almost exactly as described except I used club rolls. Turned out very tasty, good au jous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by npoirier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Def needed more spices. It was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I didn't change a thing and it was delicious. Served it with creamy horseradish sauce on the toasty French bread...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Yummy, and the juice had fantastic flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I made this and it's a hit with my pregnant wife. Her taste has changed so much in the last couple months and it's hard to tell what she can eat that day. I made a couple adjustments like most. I used a 2 pound top round and added garlic powder, salt, pepper and a couple dashes of worcestershire. I used just under a pint of an american pale ale that I had in the fridge. I sliced it then put it back for an hour and the flavor is on!!! Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Sadly, I was disappointed. I followed the recipe initially but found there was real lack of flavor. I ended up adding garlic, salt, pepper, thyme and bay leaf. The broth just didn't pack enough punch. It needed more depth perhaps using beef consomme would have been better? The beef itself was bland. I added salt to the beef once it was on the bun. I toasted the buns which was nice and melted provolone as well. My family always comments on new recipes but no one said anything about this; nothing. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 2,566) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Make this easy French dip in your slow cooker.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States