Easy Slow Cooker French Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This was very easy and the au jus it makes was so good! I used a rump roast but I think a different cut of meat would have been better. The rump roast shredded instead of sliced and was a bit tough. I cooked mine on low for 5 hours and it was done...I think 7 would be way too long. I used a can of Michelob Lite (that was the only beer in the fridge that my husband wouldn't disown me for using in a meal) and added about 7 shakes of Worcestershire sauce and a little bit of garlic powder and onion powder to the meat. I served over rolls that I toasted slightly in the oven. I also added some mozzarella to a few of the sandwiches. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAltmiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dixon, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Excellent dish! Added a few ingredients (garlic, onion powder, soy sauce and wochester sauce) and sliced the meat after 4 hours. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
SUPER good, with a few changes. I read a lot of the reviews, so this is what I did, and I don't think I would change a thing. I used a 4 lb chuck roast, rubbed 1/2 tsp each garlic salt and onion salt on it then seared it before placing it in crockpot. Then I mixed together 2 cans beef consume, (Campbell's) one pkg Lipton Onion soup mix, one bottle Guinness Stout, 1 tablespoon Worcestershire, and 1/2 tsp garlic salt then poured over roast and cooked on low 7 hours. Shred the meat, place back in the au jus, and then I added one pack of Swanson's beef Flavor Boost. Let warm in au jus for 1/2-1 hour more. I buttered some french rolls, placed under broiler, then piled on the roast beef and provolone cheese, and place back under broiler until melted. I also served it with a little Horseradish sauce on the side. (spread a tiny bit on one half of the toasted rolls) Really, really good. The meat is good by itself too, and the broth would make a really good base for French Onion soup. Will make again. And again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I loved how easy this was to make! Really good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
We just made these sandwiches last night. I actually shredded the meat with two forks since it was falling apart because it was so tender. My boys were reluctant to try it, after convincing them to just take a taste, they went nuts! Its very hard for my wife and I to find meals that all of our kids will eat. so when we find one, we make sure to keep it, this is one of those recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Benton Harbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Good starter recipe. We enjoyed it but felt it needed something more. I did put garlic powder and onion powder on the meat before cooking. May try some minced garlic in the juice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Made this last night exactly as written. After 5 hours of cooking on low the meat was tough and WAY over cooked, almost like leather. It was completely inedible. What a waste of $$$.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Fantastic! Great flavor, and an easy meal to prepare! Will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
It was a lil bland.. So i added about about two more cups of beef broth-cut some onions up and added poultry seasoning. Def. made it taste soooo much better. French rolls are def. a MUST with this sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
makes alot of beef that fell apart llike brisket. I woudl not classify this as French Dip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 2,483) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Make this easy French dip in your slow cooker.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States