Easy Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I did half a recipe in my 1 qt slow cooker. Cut semi-frozen boneless, skinless chicken breasts & Added 1 can each low salt cream of mushroom and low salt cream of celery. Added 1/4 cup chicken broth, about 1 tsp of garlic powder and 1/4 cup chopped onion & a light sprinkle of pepper. Cooked on hi for 3.5 hrs and the rice was cooked and we had a delicious dinner for two. My only complaint is that the texture is a little pasty, but slow cooking rice makes that almost unavoidable. Oh. And do NOT forget to spray/Pam the cooker first as some of the food makes yummy crusts on the walls of the slow cooker insert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I thought this recipe was great after a few changes (made after reading previous reviews). I added thyme, some Cajun seasoning and pepper to the chicken and used chopped chicken thighs instead of breast (they were out of breasts at the store). I used all 3 kinds of soup but added 2 cans of water as well. I used one cup of long grained regular white rice. I stirred the rice in really well and stirred a few times during the cooking as well. I initially increased the cooking time to 4 hours on high after reading that the rice was undercooked in some attempts, but when I checked the dish after 3 hours it was perfectly done - tender rice and chicken and very flavourful. I also added a good few handfuls of button mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I made this recipe but switched it up a bit by adding an onion soup mix packet with some water it was so yummy!!!! Even my sick son loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
It was ok... bland, but would be a good base for a recipe enhanced with lots of spices or herbs added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I've made this a few different times. No matter what I do the rice never gets evenly cooked. Some is very crunchy and others totally mush. This time I precooked the rice with the soups for 1 hour on high before reducing to low and adding frozen chicken tenderloins. The chicken turned out great, just not the rice. I make a similar dish to this in the oven. Turns out better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This was good comfort food. You do sort of have to "doctor" it up to give it more flavor i.m.o. I did buy some cream of chicken soup to try it again since I didn't have any last time (used stock and cornstarch). I only had brown rice so I had to use more water and cooking time. I also added goat cheese and some pesto and it ended up like a chicken based risotto. Not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I made this today. I added one soup can of water, some frozen peas and some Cajun Seasoning to the mixture. I cooked my rice separate, and it turned out a little too soupy for my taste. I wanted it to be thicker. The flavor is great though. Next time I will not add any water and probably make it with double the rice to get it to the consistency that I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. The rice turned into glue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I'll make it again, but I'll add some veggies and other herbs/spices. It needs something...We liked it ok and it WAS very easy to make - which I like! ;^) It's just not the most flavorful dish...kinda' bland...sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States