Easy Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
My family absolutely LOVED this recipe!! I did add salt and pepper, and some chicken seasoning to the chicken before I put in in the crockpot. I did cut up the chicken, because with small children, its easier to serve their plates when the meat is smaller. The rice was very good, not hard and not mushy. My picky picky husband even like the rice!! I did cook it for about 5.5 hours though...Will most definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florence, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This was an easy and tasty dish to make..did I mention it was easy? I made the rice separate, because I felt it would get lost in all of the sauce. Perhaps only two cans of soup were needed instead of three. You could really pick any of the flavors of soup to use since I couldn't pick out a distinct flavor when they were all mixed. I used frozen chicken breast,which added a little water to the mixture and made it slightly thinner. I will make it again, you can't beat a fast meal for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This was cheap to make which is the main reason I gave it 2 stars. When it comes to how the dish cooked and tasted it wasn't good. The rice was not cooked thoroughly. I added 3 seasonings to the mix and it was still bland. I added butter and another can of cream of chicken and it still had a pastey consistency. This dish would probably perform better as a casserole baked in the oven. I would probably cut the chicken into smaller chunks, add either chicken broth or milk, mix, cover with cheese and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Soup and rice was like mush, not very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Used basmati rice. Came out mushy. Maybe because of rice I used
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tashjean
Home Town: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This dish came out excellent! The only change I made was that I "pre-boiled" my rice to cook it down a little bit, then added it to the chicken/gravy mixture in the crock pot....thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrspetty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Loved this receipe. I made the following changes: I used the Campbell's Soup, 98% fat free versions of the soups. I used brown rice instead of white rice (because it's way better for you) and added a soup can full of water as well as 1/4 cup of milk. I followed the advice from one of the other posts, and stirred the rice around with the soup mixture before adding the chicken. I used frozen chicken breasts, so I didn't cut the chicken into pieces and cooked it all on low heat for 8 hours. I stirred in a bag of steamed broccoli before serving (the kind you throw in the microwave - I microwaved it first before adding). I'm going to make this recipe again. It's really good stick-to-your ribs stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennacat13
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Ok, this recipe is easy, and it has potential, but it must be adjusted. First, I don't think it matters what cream of _____ soups you put in, it comes out creamy and flavorful. But I do think adding more spices is necessary. So garlic salt, onion salt, paprika, salt and fresh ground pepper all made a big difference. Second, just cook the rice separately in a rice cooker. After reading the reviews about the rice issues people were having, I still decided to put my rice in and just cook it longer. Nope, five hours later some of the rice was cooked, and some of it was super hard. Third, adding some fresh veggies like onions and celery ( others suggest peas or broccoli) really give it some texture. The chicken came out fantastic, but I had to scrap off the inconsistent rice and do without. I was bummed, but I learned my lesson.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassagrass
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This is so good. I don't care for cream of celery soup so I substituted with cream of broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Loved it! Also used minute rice and it turned out perfect! So easy to make, and with two young boys, I just put it in the slow cooker and it's done just in time for dinner! No more trying to juggle cooking and bathing/feeding/homework! Recommended for all busy mums out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States