Easy Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Mine turned out perfectly but I did make some changes. I added about 15 chopped baby carrots as well as one large peeled (baking) potato. I also added a tablespoon of minced garlic. I used three WHOLE large completely frozen chicken breasts totaling 1.5lb. I seasoned with salt and pepper and also used chicken broth in place of the water although I DID add another 6oz of water because of the veggies. I cooked on high for 3.5 hours and then added the biscuits which I prepared by tearing one can into chunks and the other can into strips. I did not use their entirety -- probably 75% of the biscuits and stopped adding them when the pot became quite full. I found that afterwards, it didn't really matter what condition the biscuits were in when I added them because after they grew from cooking, they all kinda mushed together which actually made them more like authentic and classic dumplings. It was also at this time that I gave the dish its first stir and added a bit of flour because it did appear thin. I cooked on high for another 3.5 hours for a total of 7 hours. It was delicious and filling. An instant classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This is a very simple recipe, good for kids or anyone picky, but you must cook the rice first! It will be very crunchy. Also simple to throw in in the morning ,you can even cook the rice the night before to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This was great. Sorry I have no picture it didn't last that long
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by john_wittler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I added a packet of Lipton onion soup mix. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
What could be easier - just open a coupla cans of soup and toss in a chicken ... lolol I made this, and it was WONDERFUL! It reminded me of a similar recipe my mother used to make years ago, which was a favorite of mine - so I bravely added 1/8 teaspoon of CURRY to the mix. It came out PERFECT. I adjusted serving size to TWO servings, for just myself, so that called for 1/2 can of each of the 3 soups. Later in the week, I cooked the remaining half cans of soup with just the rice, as I had no more chicken. Then I stirred in a can of tuna. STILL DELICIOUS :) This is now a staple of my easy, cheap cooking for one person. Thank you so much! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
My girlfriend and I just tried this today and loved it! I read other peoples reviews and made sure i used the frozen egg noodles and also an extra can of cream of chicken. Cooked it for 45 minutes and it turned out great!! Im impressed ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Imam not a great cook so the lack of instructions with the rice made it vague. So I added rice a roni chicken rice at the begining. The rice came out mushy but overall good taste. Be t time I will put the same rice and pa k in an hour before it's done and see how that goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Although it was extremely easy, I felt this dish was very bland, I added pepper and salt which helped a little and it was very thick almost porridge like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Making this a Christmas eve tradition wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
When I read the recipe, I thought that there may not be enough rice, so I added a 1/2 cup more; and a 1/2 cup of water to compensate for moisture. NOT a good idea. There was too much rice. And my rice was a bit crunchy after cooking 5 hours on low. I'm not sure if the crunchy rice was from too much or otherwise since others complained of undercooked rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States