Easy Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Excellent and easy - I used brown rice instead of white and stirred the rice in really well - the rice came out fine. I used low sodium soup to reduce the amount of salt. Also added some minced garlic and frozen peas for color. My kids now eat peas - imagine that! Second time around - used cream of potato soup instead of cream of mushroom, quinoa instead of rice, and added some rosemary with the minced garlic - even better than the first time.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I changed the recipe by adding a small amount of milk so it is more creamy. I also add 2 chicken buillion cubes, and salt, pepper and garlic powder to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
YUCK! Had to throw it all in the trash. What a waste. I cooked it on low for 7 hours, used more rice than it called for and added 1/2 minute rice and 1/2 regular white rice. Also added some water and some broth so the rice would soak up the liquid and hopefully not be hard. Well, the minute rice soaked up all the liquid and the mixture came out thick and gross looking, but the regular rice was STILL HARD and not edible. I had to order pizza .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This was really good,real easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
If you are ok with dinner looking a little like gruel, this is good. After reading the reviews, I did make the following changes: 1) used only 1 large can of cream of mushroom soup 2) used half that can of a mixture of wine and water to thin out, 3) used chicken thighs instead of breasts (they fell apart, which was ok) and 4) added a frozen package of broccoli with cheese sause on the top. I also added a lot of garlic powder to taste. It was a little "greuly": my rice did not stay hard but got a little mushy. I also had to stir it a lot to make sure the rice didn't stick to the bottom and sides of the slow cooker. Served with cheese on top, it's delicious, filling and yummy on a cold day, but not much to look at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I left out the cream of celery soup and added dried onion soup mix. I also mixed in a can of water. Tastes like my mom's chicken and rice, only in a slow cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
My husband, kids and I loved this! It's very hard to please everyone in our family of 5 all at the same time and this recipe was awesome! The chicken turned out nice and moist! I will be using this recipe again soon! Thank you so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I used cheddar cheese soup rather than cream of mushroom. Also added some chopped fresh broccoli the last hour and a half. Cooked rice separately. Added at end of cooking. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Changed this a little the second time I made it and with these changes, WOW! I had a HIT! Here it is: I used 4-5 frozen chicken breasts. In your crock pot, mix 2 (10 3/4 ounce) cans of Campbell's Cream of Chicken and 2 (10 3/4 ounce) Campbell's Cream of Mushroom soup with 1 cup of uncooked white rice (DO NOT USE MINUTE RICE OR FAST COOKING RICE). I omitted the celery soup and added 1 can of water. I added 1/2 tsp of celery seed, 1 tsp of dried parsley, 1/2 tsp of black pepper and 3/4 pkg of Lipton Onion Soup Mix (DO NOT ADD SALT). Stir everything really well. I then placed the frozen breasts in (DO NOT CHOP THESE, JUST PLACE THEM IN WHOLE). Cover the breasts with the soup. Put the lid on the pot and you're good to go. I cooked it for 4-5 hours on HIGH. I stirred the meal after about 4 hours and turned to LOW until everyone got home (about another hour). Would have given it a 5, but the first time I made it, it wasn't as good as I had hoped (followed the original recipe exactly). But the author was on to something good. The slow cooker is the way to go when you're at work and the clean up, WHEW! Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States