Easy Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This was a great base recipe that I made a few changes to. I used 1 can cream of mushroom w/roasted garlic, 1 can cream of chicken w/herbs, 2 cups water, 1 pkg. onion soup mix and then added corn and broccoli. I also just used frozen chicken breasts and put them in on top of everything. I did put in the rice but won't next time as it didn't really add to the dish. After it was done, I shredded the chicken and then served it over egg noodles and biscuits on the side. Yummy meal for a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Chicken was dry, rice was mushy... will definatly NOT make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Here's how my family has always done it: can of cream of chicken, can of cream of mushroom, packet of dry onion soup mix, 2 cups of water, 1 cup of rice, 4 boneless breasts cut into strips, salt and pepper to taste. Mix the soups, water, and rice in the crock pot. Salt and pepper the chicken, then brown it in a little oil. Put the chicken in the crock pot; cook on low 4-5 hours. Serve with a fresh garden salad for a great keep the house cool summer meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Decent but very bland. Chicken needs to be heavily seasoned or marinated. Rice was good though. I used minute rice and mixed into the soups. Turned out very creamy. Easy enough to throw together. I would definately make this again with lots of seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I used this recipe as the foundation for what I was was making. The only change I made to the ingredients list was that I substituted the white rice for some instant long grain wild rice. I also added peas, carrots, and some broccoli to the mix and increased the cooking time. I think it's delicious, and I'll give it a 4* rating. Make sure you use instant rice to avoid crunchy under cooked rice that seems to be a common problem. This is a great base recipe that leaves room to tinker with it to suit your taste. Will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
USE MINUTE RICE. That will take care of your hard rice problem. I added corn, peas and carrots it was delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I give it four stars because it's not my favorite thing to make and I had to put the rice on high the last 2 hours of cooking because it wasn't getting cooked through. However, it came out ok in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Recipe was a good starting point.~however...next time however I will cook the rice separately and add it at the end. I used 1 can cream of mushroom & 2 cans cream of chicken. I also added water like most other posters. I also added some salt, pepper, italian seasoning, garlic powder and onion powder, a can of peas, can of corn & can of diced carrots (all drained). Trying to cook the rice with the rest of the ingredients made it a slop (although delish slop!). Definitely will be serving it over biscuits :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
this was good in that it was done in 4 hours and did not require much work. i used organic soups (I cant tolerate msg) and 2/3 c dry white wine, added carrots, celery and onion. it is a bit soupy so i would add extra rice next time (i made another cup of rice to put under the dinner). my rice came out fine and i used organic lundberg white rice. chicken was cooked well after 4 hours on high. let it sit after being cooked to absorb some liquid. i may omit white wine next time and add more herbs and salt (remember: i did not use campbells which packs some punch in flavor dept)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This was good, not great, but good. I really had to beef up the flavor, but it was quick easy and the chicken truly fell apart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States