Easy Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
I have made this before but adding a pkg. of onion soup mix (the kind you make dip with) really gives the rice more flavor. I make my own onion soup mix, which cuts down on the sodium. My onion soup mix: 4 tsp. instant beef bouillon (use low or no salt variety if you like); 8 tsp. dried minced or chopped onion;1 tsp. onion powder; 1/4 tsp. bon appetit seasoning (or seasoned salt). Mix and use in recipe or seal in foil packet. Use within 6 months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
just ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I thought this recipe was pretty good. I decided to doctor it up a little bit after reading the other reviews. I added 1 large can of cream of chicken soup and a small can of the cheese soup. I also cooked up the chicken before putting it in the crockpot, just for color. It came out a little dry, so I added some chicken broth for the last hour of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
A little too cream-of-blah soup for me. I'd think about adding some brocolli or other veggies before I'd try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inman, Kansas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Whole family loved this. Added some garlic salt, some frozen veggies and 1 cup of chicken broth. Also threw in some Cheddar cheese towards the end. Picky kids had 2 helpings. Definitely a keeper in our house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I made this recipe and it turned out great! Big hit with my daughter who doesn't like mushrooms (and I didn't tell). I substituted a can of water for the cream of celery soup and it was great. One hint, don't just throw it all in the cooker, mix the soup with the rice, otherwise rice can be a little under done. Will definately make over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
381 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I found the basic recipe to be great, but I made my base from left over broth from a turkey. I added rosemary and some fresh Italian basil plus Cookes flavor enhancer for flavor. The most important thing I did was cook everything but the rice in the slow cooker and then added the rice about 30 minutes prior to serving and I have found that this ensures that the rice is not over cooked and still fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ms. Soho
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
It was a SIMPLE, easy comfort food to make. I found it a little too salty though. After reading the reviews, I followed suit in adding my own seasoning for taste to make sure the chicken wasn't too bland. (It wasn't.) I added onion powder, pepper, and dried basil to the recipe. Also for the soup, I used 2 cans of low-sodium cream of mushroom soup. If I had been able to find the low-sodium kind for the other 2 soups, I would have gotten it too. In addition to the soup, I added about 1/4-1/2 can of water to it because it was looking pretty thick. Even after adding water it was thick enough. Overall, this recipe was good. I think I'd make it again on days I'm feeling lazy or want comfort food. I served biscuits alongside with this meal. It was a big hit with everyone who tried it. For me, it was "alright."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Soho
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Made this recipe tonight, it did the trick. Probably wont make this one that often, but if you're in the mood for some serious comfort food, mmmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
this was pretty good...had good flavor, and was extremely easy to make...although all of that soup contains lots of sodium. I probably will make it again, simply because it's easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYMCKILLIP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tillamook, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pacific City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States