Easy Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by shtewps
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Just a few changes here. Used about a half cup chicken broth and a cup of dry white. I whisked the three soups over the stove with the rice to a smooth consistency before adding it to the cooker. I also added whole cremini mushrooms and one large onion (quartered). I then seasoned the chicken with salt, pepper, cayenne, paprika and fresh thyme. The wine and fresh thyme penetrated through the chicken like nothing else. It tasted amazing. I had about 1 1/4 cups of rice in this dish and strongly believe it can handle more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shtewps
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
The "gravey" was good although it was a little too "canned soup" tasting. But the chicken itself though very tender was bland. I cooked the rice on the side but Im certain that if the rice were cooked in the soups it would be very difficult to get it fully cooked without making it mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I tweaked this recipe a little after reading reviews from others. I used 1 can cream of chicken, 1 can cream of mushroom with garlic, 3 frozen chicken breasts(uncut), 3/4 c. white wine,1 c.white rice(Minute), 1 bag frozen veggies(carrots,broccoli & cauliflower)& season salt & pepper. I put it all in the crock pot for 4 hours on high & it was perfect. Chicken was tender & rice was cooked, not too mushy or hard. I'd definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Well I do like the overall taste of the dish, but my rice did not finish cooking either. I just prepared some more rice to serve with it, but I will have to work with this some more to see about getting the rice done. I may try to use elbow noodles next time as another person suggested...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tucker, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I added chicken broth and an extra cup of instant rice. It came out perfect! My family loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKPeirano

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
The taste was very good, however, as other reviewers have written, the rice was not done all the way. I even added a little extra water (per another reviewers suggestion). I cooked it in the slow cooker on low for about 5 3/4 hours. Still, the rice was not done. Great flavor, but the crunchy rice didn't make up for it to me. I may try this again with some variations with the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Thomasville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This is a favorite in my house. Thanks for sharing the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This recipe was tasty for sure but the rice came out kinda mushy so I just made extra rice and piled the slow cooked stuff all on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SSiguaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blaine, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
My husband loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Roach

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Plains, Missouri, USA
Living In: Stanardsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This was an awesome recipe! I tweaked it a little bit and used macaroni noodles instead of rice. It was a hit at the dinner table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Obremski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States