Easy Slow Cooker Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
These were excellent! I took the advice of others and baked the wings in the oven for 20 minutes before transferring them to the crock pot with other ingredients for an additional 4 hours. The meat fell off the bone and the flavor was incredible. This is a must keep recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Great sauce. I agree w/other reveiwers that it would be good on legs. I put the wings in the crock pot on high for four hours, removed the wings to an oven dish, added some corn starch to the sauce to thicken, poured it over the chicken in the pan, then roasted them in a 300 degree oven for an hour or so to help the texture. They were a hit at a Super Bowl Party. Oh, a side note, most frozen chicken wings are ice glazed, and if you thaw them or rinse the glaze off before using, your recipes will be MUCH less watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
412 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUN4REGINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
The sauce for these wings was great. I doubled up on the hot sauce. I did put the wings in the oven to crisp up a little at the very end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I have made this recipe a few times. I used frozen chicken wings and poured the sauce on the wings. Mixed them up and cooked for a few hours. The sauce becomes very thin, watery & a little greasy. the sauce does not stick on the wings. I used a little more chili sauce hoping to thicken the sauce, but no luck. Too watery.. Good but too thin. Will make again but need to make some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
These were a big hit, but added some buffalo seasoning for some more heat. Also I cooked them in a 6qt roaster for one hour on 350. They came out tender and jucy.I'm making them for a second time today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I didn't like the texture of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
Ok, I did what others did by baking first then putting them into the crockpot. I found that all the sauce went to the bottom though, so I didn't feel like my chicken got thoroughly coated. To avoid missing the BBQ flavor, I cranked the crockpot up to High for 2hrs, then took the wings out and placed them in a dish and took the BBQ sauce out of the bottom and popped them in a 350 degree oven for about 30-40min, basting them with the leftover BBQ sauce. My care group LOVED them! Those were like the best BBQ chicken wings I've had in a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
This is a great recipe!!! I changed it up a bit for a church potluck. I used legs and thighs and sprinkled them with garlic powder, salt and pepper and then baked them at 375 for 40 minutes before I put them in the crock pot. They turned out great!!!!! There was nothing left but the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Spicy (I added extra hot sauce) with a hint of sweetness (I substituted honey for the molasses). I will definitely make this again, but probably in the oven or on the grill to give the the wings a better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
I went into the kitchen this morning to prepare this meal for dinner. I decided not to make this in the crockpot. I made the sauce then put the chicken with it into a ziplock bag. ( I used some wings and leg quarters) my husband prefers dark meat. When I got ready to make dinner, I preheated the oven to 350. I put the chicken on a hot grill for about 10 minutes or so, turning often. Then I put the chicken in the oven for about 30 min. I am rating this a five because this has to be one of the best sauces I have tried. My husband loved it. It was tangy, spicy,( not hot tho)and sweet all at the same time. I printed this recipe out so I will always have this sauce. Thank you. Sincerely, Judy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Machesney Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States