Easy Slow Cooker Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Just OK for me. I made these for a party and was looking for an appetizer I could use the crockpot for to get them done early. By the time my guests showed up (about 5 hours on low) the wings were cooked and flavorful - the sauce was thin, but the wings had absorbed the flavor and were pretty yummy. By the end of the party, though (10 hours or so on low) the wings were overcooked and the meat had fallen off the bones. If I made these again I would take them out before they overcooked, and then maybe bake them in the oven a little so they aren't quite so mushy. And maybe add a little honey for sweetness, and more hot sauce. And definitely buy wingettes if you can find them. Worst thing about this recipe is hacking up the whole chicken wings! Blech!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Unfortunately, despite utilizing the other reviewer's recommendations to improve the dish; this recipe was a total bomb. The texture was awful, the sauce tasteless - what a waste of good ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I liked the idea of cooking wings in a slow cooker but they were just too tender for my liking and the sauce was good but did not stay on the wings. I was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I made this as a last minute option for a get together we were going to.I did what other viewers recommended and broiled the chicken crispy before putting them in the crock pot.And I also coated the chicken first. It came out great I just recommend adding onion flakes and pepper flakes it gives it just a little more kick..Also broil your wings an extra 15 min when there done in your crock pot. They will still fall of the bone but have a little crunch.Yummm :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windham, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This was sooo yummy and flavorful!! I used drumsticks, a Thai Chilli sause and didnt worry too much about mesurements, but it seemed to work. I didnt want them to be soggy so I did as someone else mentioned and I broiled them from a few minuts when they where done. So good, spicy and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonja J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This was a great recipe. It is easy to make and everyone loved it. The only change I made was adding a little more hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Made these for a get together, and everyone loved them. I was a little nervous when I saw how thin the sauce was, but the flavor was exellant, so I guess it doesnt matter how thin or the thick the sauce gets, what matters is the flavor, and these were a delicious...Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
When making slow cooker chicken wings, I first cook the wings in a small amount of water in the slow cooker for 4 hours. After draining the wings, I transfer them into the oven for the remaining hour with the sauce & seasoning. This allows the sauce & seasoning to stick to the wings, unlike the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I received many compliments on this. The only thing I did differently was added a little honey and some cumin for more of a "sweet smokey" taste. And to thicken the sauce up a bit I stirred in some 'wonder flour' at the end. Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Hubby said only 3 stars, next time he wants more BBQ sauce flavor or hot wing flavor. I liked them a lot, sauce was a little thin. So I pulled out the chicken legs (I like legs better than wings) and added a water and corn starch mix. Thickened it right up and stuck to the legs very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3tmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States