Easy Slow Cooker Carne Guisada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by midwestchef
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
For a better burrito filling and less fat, I made these changes [I hate it when people do this, sorry]: I used a London Broil, omitted the potatoes and added a jalapeno, seeded and diced. Slow cooked for 8-10 hours because this cut of meat it leaner and tougher. Pretty good - I just didn't want potatoes in my burrito...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midwestchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Albany, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
As written, using the chuck roast (fatty) and putting the potatoes in with the roast to slow cook (they get mushy) this only rates a 3. It tastes ok, but who needs all that fat and mushy potatoes? Buy a good sirloin steak or london broil or even an excellent quality stew meat (that's what I use...no fat). Add potatoes the last hour of cooking and turn up to high. No mush. No fat. This benefits from adding a sliced jalapeno pepper to it, always. Canned beans (black, pinto, red, etc.) can be added the last hour, also. Corn makes a nice addition, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
If you cannot decide between chili or stew try this recipe. I made this in my slowcooker and it intensified the flavours and tenderized the meat. This definitly a Mexican chili stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
The whole family loved this and it couldn't have been simpler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
Yum! Mine had an inexplicable sweet taste to it. I am not sure if it was super-sweet peppers (I had baby bells) or if someone mixed powdered sugar in to the flour. But once I figure that part out, it'll be perfect! A little extra cornstarch in the broth when it's done helps it hold together in a tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tonganoxie, Kansas, USA
Living In: Mission, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This is a very tasty recipe. My husband and I really enjoyed it. Make a casserole out of the leftovers using layer of rice, carne guisada, black beans repeated and put pepper jack cheese on top. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This was the most bland food I've ever made! I made it exactly as the recipe called with no additions. After it was done, I had to add a million different things just to get it to have a taste. My husband likes Mexican/Latino food and this was just not a hit. I don't know what this dish is supposed to taste like but this recipe was not for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This was pretty good. I used masa instead of all purpose flour. I also added more chili powder. It still needed more of a kick. It was not spicy at all, but definitely had flavor. My kids loved it. Next time, I won't dice the potatoes. I'll leave them a little bigger. I kind of lost them in the soup a bit. Make sure that your meat is lean/trimmed because it will reduce the amount of greasiness. But you also need to remember that Mexican soups are generally greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Absolutely delish! As my sister put it "it's just the right beef stew and just the right chili". I added a beef bullion cube and a pinch of white sugar to my crock pot just for kicks, flavor was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This is a terrific dish when you are feeding a crowd. I make these along with some shredded chicken when I am hosting a 'taco bar' party. I take the time to remove as much fat as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States