Easy Slow Cooker Carne Guisada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Excellent...I cut the potatoes in larger pieces and didnt' have any problems. I have one of the larger oval crock pots and cooked it about 10 hours on low...since that's how long I'm away at work. It was definitely more like a soup than a burrito filling. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I couldn't believe that I was reading 1/4 CUP of chili powder. May be that I use a different type of chili powder than others have used. Even so I chickened out at the last minute and only added 1/8 cup. It was still so hot we had to avoid the liquid and serve it over brown rice. And we aren't wimps when it comes to the heat. But it was oddly tasty just the same. The whole family kept eating it while gulping down large quantities of milk. Will definately make this again but cut back even further on the chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This was so good, I could barely stop eating. Mild spicy flavor and a hearty all-in-one meal. My only comment is that the sauce was a bit soupy, otherwise it tasted perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This is "Stew Chili" and boy, is it ever good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Very tender meat. Agree with most to trim fat prior to adding to crockpot. Also, could use a little "bite", was a little bland. We put in on tortillas and it made for a great taco, added refried beans and cheese. good recipe, will just add more spice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Very good stew served with mexican rice. Bit time consuming trimming the chuck roast of fat. Added more chile powder,salt,cumin,and a touch of oregano. Next day added cornstarch to thicken to make burrito's. Excellant filling. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
We all liked this but I am not a spicy food kind of person. So next time I am going to try to cut back on the chili powder and increase the cumin. I will be making this again for sure though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marengo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This stew is delicious! I made a few minor changes....added chipolte pepper flakes, some chopped cilantro, doubled the amount of salt and did not use potatoes. Served with baked cornbread. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This recipe gave me a lot of inspiration! Used 3 serrano peppers like one user had suggested...this made the heat perfect! Will absolutely make again. Also, I agree with the last few reviewers. Please, when you rate a recipe...rate the one that was submitted...not YOUR version of recipe and then make ugly comments. Thank you for the great ideas good reviewers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBecker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States