Easy Slow Cooker Carne Guisada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I forgot the red peppers, but added a diced jalapeno (with seeds and membrane). I wished I had added more! This wound up being very wet for me, but that may be because my slow cooker was a bit too small for this recipe so everything just kept stacking up up up! I served this, strained, in tortillas. For the leftovers I was stumped, then decided to just add the remainder of my "Mexican Rice I" and a can of kidney beans and tomorrow we'll eat this as a true stew. Thanks for the recipe :) I do still prefer "Carne Guisada II" from this site, which is also made in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly, but I did cut the meat chunks smaller to be more kid-friendly. This is definitely a soupy, stew-like meal. Might be good with hominy added, and carrots would be a nice addition too. Served this with crusty french bread. Can't wait for lunch leftovers today! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
i followed the recipe exactly and it turned out amazingly yummy! i had my in-laws over for dinner and they loved it too....5 stars in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Wonderful! I used extra spices and hamburger, because I was out of round steak. Kids adored it!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This was REALLY good. I usually make carne guisada on the stovetop, but it never turns out just right. This recipe had the perfect gravy. I didn't want to edit the recipe, but I didn't have 3 lbs of meat, garlic and didn't have chili pouder either. I used a little over 2 lbs instead and poured in a can of tomato sauce for color/flavor. I used garlic powder instead of garlic cloves also. Note: I coated the meat/veggie mix by shaking it in a gallon zip lock bag. (less mess)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
this was a good recipe :) my meat was a little chewy still at the end of the 10 hours so i think i will try it again with a better cut of meat because i really enjoyed the flavour of it. the sauce was nice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmaggiehunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I have to agree with swchef, I have a hard time enjoying potatoes with tortillas, However I made the recipe the first time without changes, and found it lacking. Maybe it needed more salt. This 2nd time I am trying the recipe with a can of rotel tomatoes. The appealing thing about this recipe is,the ingredients I always seem to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I've taken this to church potluck several times. It's a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Delicious!! I also cut the potatoes into larger pieces and had no problem. Just pulled meat/veggie mixture out with slotted spoon and served in taco shells i made from soft tortillas in the oven. Served with lettuce, tomato, and avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Excellent...I cut the potatoes in larger pieces and didnt' have any problems. I have one of the larger oval crock pots and cooked it about 10 hours on low...since that's how long I'm away at work. It was definitely more like a soup than a burrito filling. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States