Easy Slow Cooker Carne Guisada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
A delicious recipe!! I've cooked Carne Guisada for years using a more difficult recipe and this one is equally as good. We grew up having it over rice. For those of you who don't know good Carne Guisada .. the cut of meat makes a difference and chuck roast is the best you can use. Other cuts don't cook up as tender. Sure you can trim some of the fat. The "red" as one reviewer referred to is the chili powder. When you pour that off, you loose the flavor. The potatoes need to go in at first .. that's what thickens this up. For the reviewer who is upset with others who rate the dish after their changes. Well said!!! You can't honestly judge something you made changes to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Very good. Thanks for posting. My native Mexican bf liked this (but he did say its deffinatley not traditionall how its made ingredients wise also). I did make one change. I filled the 1/4 measuring cup 3/4 the way with chili powder and topped it off with cayenne pepper to bring up the heat =] Would deffinatley make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna7532

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Maine, USA
Living In: Knox, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I LOVED this. I did add some Mrs. Dash Southwestern Seasoning to this because I like it kicked up a few notches. My family fought over the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I loved this more than restraunt style! The meat was so tender and just fell apart..I did use stew meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I tried this recipe last night. I followed directions exactly. There is no way that 1 tsp of salt will suffice for 3lbs of roast. I will have to try and salvage this dish. I would recommend adding some green chiles to it, definately more salt, black pepper and maybe some diced tomatoes. I would rate this 0 stars if i could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I decided to make this for Christmas while my in-laws were visiting. It was super flavorful, but I had to thicken it quite a bit. It still needed something more so I added some beef brown gravy and it made it perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
After reading so many positive reviews I was surprised that both my husband and myself didn't like this at all. I followed the recipe exactly but it was very bland, kind of a boiled meat or pot roast but odd flavor. Way too runny to put in a tortilla. I'm shocked that so many people liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Another great soup recipe found right here on allrecipes. I really liked this recipe, only change I made was a dash of tabasco sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This was yum. I had it in the crock pot for almost 10 hours so I added some extra water. Next time I'll use extra stock instead of extra water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Made this as is. Sooo easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States