Easy Slow Cooker Carne Guisada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This is a terrific dish when you are feeding a crowd. I make these along with some shredded chicken when I am hosting a 'taco bar' party. I take the time to remove as much fat as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHY GORT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delhi, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
This was excellent. I changed the recipe only by using cornmeal and bean flour as thickeners. This was great over rice with warm tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Not Specified, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Great recipe with my modifications; used sweet potatoes instead of white, used 1 Tablespoon Cumin, and only 2 Tablespoons Chili Powder to favor my stomach. It was slightly bland, so will use 3 T. CP next time. BUT...the flavor was wonderful!! I spent a lot of time trimming the chuck roast so had little fat to remove. The prep is time consuming, so also will do prep one day, and cook the next. Served with corn bread this time. Next time...rice. Thanks for the recipe. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Absolutely delish! As my sister put it "it's just the right beef stew and just the right chili". I added a beef bullion cube and a pinch of white sugar to my crock pot just for kicks, flavor was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This is a very tasty recipe. My husband and I really enjoyed it. Make a casserole out of the leftovers using layer of rice, carne guisada, black beans repeated and put pepper jack cheese on top. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
IT REALLY TROUBLES ME WHEN FOLKS DO THERE OWN THING WITH A RECIPE AND THEN LOWER THE SCORE. CHUCK STEW MEAT AND CHUCK ROAST CUT UP ARE THE SAME THING AND THE RED THAT WAS SEEN IS PROBABLY THE 1/4 CUP OF CHILI POWDER. p l e a s e THINK BEFORE YOU WRITE AND STOP BEING MEAN!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
My grandmother used to always tell me to follow a recipe exactly the first time around then change it a little and make it your own. But never just flat out change it. I agree.... don't rate something after YOU make your changes. Your supposeto rate the recipe at hand. My family liked this recipe. It was real good. But I will NOW be changing it just a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This recipe gave me a lot of inspiration! Used 3 serrano peppers like one user had suggested...this made the heat perfect! Will absolutely make again. Also, I agree with the last few reviewers. Please, when you rate a recipe...rate the one that was submitted...not YOUR version of recipe and then make ugly comments. Thank you for the great ideas good reviewers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBecker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This stew is delicious! I made a few minor changes....added chipolte pepper flakes, some chopped cilantro, doubled the amount of salt and did not use potatoes. Served with baked cornbread. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States