Easy Slow Cooker Carne Guisada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
IT REALLY TROUBLES ME WHEN FOLKS DO THERE OWN THING WITH A RECIPE AND THEN LOWER THE SCORE. CHUCK STEW MEAT AND CHUCK ROAST CUT UP ARE THE SAME THING AND THE RED THAT WAS SEEN IS PROBABLY THE 1/4 CUP OF CHILI POWDER. p l e a s e THINK BEFORE YOU WRITE AND STOP BEING MEAN!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This is a very tasty recipe. My husband and I really enjoyed it. Make a casserole out of the leftovers using layer of rice, carne guisada, black beans repeated and put pepper jack cheese on top. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I made this overnight to take to work.I love how easy it is to make!! It was pretty good although i had only a lb. of beef cubes and had to adjust accordingly. I also didn't have enough beef broth and used wine also.The meat was tender and delicious and i threw in some corn that i had leftover. Very colorful dish. I look forward to making this again with the exact ingredients it calls for.Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
As written, using the chuck roast (fatty) and putting the potatoes in with the roast to slow cook (they get mushy) this only rates a 3. It tastes ok, but who needs all that fat and mushy potatoes? Buy a good sirloin steak or london broil or even an excellent quality stew meat (that's what I use...no fat). Add potatoes the last hour of cooking and turn up to high. No mush. No fat. This benefits from adding a sliced jalapeno pepper to it, always. Canned beans (black, pinto, red, etc.) can be added the last hour, also. Corn makes a nice addition, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
good! I substituted masa flour for a more authentic taste, and added fresh diced serrano chile to bring the heat up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greystonecooks

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
Easy to make. I agree, trim all of the fat off the meat before putting it in the crock pot. Could add some more salt or spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
I'm rating this in the middle cause I changed the cut of meat. I used chunked stew meat because that's what my mom always cooked with and it's already cut. It smelled heavenly all day but when I finally opened it at the end of the day it was full of some kind of red grease (which I almost see in the picture submitted. It definately was nothing I could pour over rice or anything like that. I drained the meat completely and we still ate it. The flavor was real good. Needed just a bit of salt. I'll try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This is a terrific dish when you are feeding a crowd. I make these along with some shredded chicken when I am hosting a 'taco bar' party. I take the time to remove as much fat as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This is very good but I recommend removing almost all of the fat from the roast or be prepared to use a gravy seperator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This was pretty good. I used masa instead of all purpose flour. I also added more chili powder. It still needed more of a kick. It was not spicy at all, but definitely had flavor. My kids loved it. Next time, I won't dice the potatoes. I'll leave them a little bigger. I kind of lost them in the soup a bit. Make sure that your meat is lean/trimmed because it will reduce the amount of greasiness. But you also need to remember that Mexican soups are generally greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States