Easy Slow Cooker Carne Guisada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
good! I substituted masa flour for a more authentic taste, and added fresh diced serrano chile to bring the heat up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greystonecooks

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This is very good but I recommend removing almost all of the fat from the roast or be prepared to use a gravy seperator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
Easy to make. I agree, trim all of the fat off the meat before putting it in the crock pot. Could add some more salt or spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I made this overnight to take to work.I love how easy it is to make!! It was pretty good although i had only a lb. of beef cubes and had to adjust accordingly. I also didn't have enough beef broth and used wine also.The meat was tender and delicious and i threw in some corn that i had leftover. Very colorful dish. I look forward to making this again with the exact ingredients it calls for.Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHY GORT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delhi, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
This was great. Nice flavours. The green peppers really made it. Great for lunches and in wraps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
I'm rating this in the middle cause I changed the cut of meat. I used chunked stew meat because that's what my mom always cooked with and it's already cut. It smelled heavenly all day but when I finally opened it at the end of the day it was full of some kind of red grease (which I almost see in the picture submitted. It definately was nothing I could pour over rice or anything like that. I drained the meat completely and we still ate it. The flavor was real good. Needed just a bit of salt. I'll try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Good flavor. Easy to through into the crock pot and forget about it all day, that aspect gave it the 4th star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
This was excellent. I changed the recipe only by using cornmeal and bean flour as thickeners. This was great over rice with warm tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Not Specified, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Great recipe with my modifications; used sweet potatoes instead of white, used 1 Tablespoon Cumin, and only 2 Tablespoons Chili Powder to favor my stomach. It was slightly bland, so will use 3 T. CP next time. BUT...the flavor was wonderful!! I spent a lot of time trimming the chuck roast so had little fat to remove. The prep is time consuming, so also will do prep one day, and cook the next. Served with corn bread this time. Next time...rice. Thanks for the recipe. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States