Easy Slow Cooker Carne Guisada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This is the first beef dish I've made in over a year - wow. Though this was pretty good - fairly basic but the few ingredients came together to make something pretty good. (But not a wow.) I had no trouble with mushy potatoes (I even cut up everything tiny), and I also ended up adding a little bit of water cause mine got very thick. I tend to always cut fat off of things so had no trouble with greasiness either. (I was cutting fat off before people started getting all health-conscious.) A crock is the best way to cook meat. I guess I missed that part about using it as a burrito filling - I wish I had tried that, just with some Jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I forgot the red peppers, but added a diced jalapeno (with seeds and membrane). I wished I had added more! This wound up being very wet for me, but that may be because my slow cooker was a bit too small for this recipe so everything just kept stacking up up up! I served this, strained, in tortillas. For the leftovers I was stumped, then decided to just add the remainder of my "Mexican Rice I" and a can of kidney beans and tomorrow we'll eat this as a true stew. Thanks for the recipe :) I do still prefer "Carne Guisada II" from this site, which is also made in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly, but I did cut the meat chunks smaller to be more kid-friendly. This is definitely a soupy, stew-like meal. Might be good with hominy added, and carrots would be a nice addition too. Served this with crusty french bread. Can't wait for lunch leftovers today! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
i followed the recipe exactly and it turned out amazingly yummy! i had my in-laws over for dinner and they loved it too....5 stars in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Wonderful! I used extra spices and hamburger, because I was out of round steak. Kids adored it!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This was REALLY good. I usually make carne guisada on the stovetop, but it never turns out just right. This recipe had the perfect gravy. I didn't want to edit the recipe, but I didn't have 3 lbs of meat, garlic and didn't have chili pouder either. I used a little over 2 lbs instead and poured in a can of tomato sauce for color/flavor. I used garlic powder instead of garlic cloves also. Note: I coated the meat/veggie mix by shaking it in a gallon zip lock bag. (less mess)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
this was a good recipe :) my meat was a little chewy still at the end of the 10 hours so i think i will try it again with a better cut of meat because i really enjoyed the flavour of it. the sauce was nice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmaggiehunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I have to agree with swchef, I have a hard time enjoying potatoes with tortillas, However I made the recipe the first time without changes, and found it lacking. Maybe it needed more salt. This 2nd time I am trying the recipe with a can of rotel tomatoes. The appealing thing about this recipe is,the ingredients I always seem to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I've taken this to church potluck several times. It's a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Delicious!! I also cut the potatoes into larger pieces and had no problem. Just pulled meat/veggie mixture out with slotted spoon and served in taco shells i made from soft tortillas in the oven. Served with lettuce, tomato, and avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States