Easy Slow Cooker Carne Guisada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This is so yummy! i just used a pack of stew meat & followed everything else. . . i didnt have an issue with the potatoes getting mushy. great flavor! goes great with some tortillas and rice:]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kthongvanx3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I used sirloin that I trimmed and I cut the chili powder. I was concerned it would be too spicy for me. Like others, I felt it was too watery. I added some flour to thicken it a little. I wished that I had masa, but I made do with flour. The flavor was good, the potatoes weren't mushy, the beef was tender. If I make this again, I will use less liquid. I suspect it will taste better tomorrow, but it was good tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
After reading the critiques here, I decided to try to alleviate the greasy issue and used a very fat free piece of round steak. This is a good cut of meat to use for slow cooking. I cut it up into small, about 1 and 1/2 inch chunks. Also used masa flour instead of all purpose and a small can of chopped green chilis. Kept the chili powder and beef broth, but added no cumin and tested while cooking for salt need. I omitted the red bell pepper but left in the garlic and onion of course. I did take the advice of another and waited to add the potatoes until about 3/4 the way done. Peeled and cut into 1 and 1/2 inch pieces(like the meat)I realize this is not how the recipe is written here, but felt I needed to heed the advice of others and change it up for our tastes. It turned out quite tasty. When I make it again, I may need to tweak with some additional spices, but so far, we like it just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozark, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Great recipe! I cut my potatoes a little bigger for added chunkiness and added an extra Tbsp of cumin just because I love the flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This was yummy. Even my 71 year old mom and 5 year old twins liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I really loved the flavor all though I know I did something wrong while making it....It still tasted great! just seemed like mine had to much broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EliCordell
Home Town: Greenville, Texas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I think that this is a fine starter recipe. However...I must agree with several of the other reviewers and offer the following suggestions: 1) Add the potatoes at the end and use very lean cut. you cans skip the potatoes altogether and serve with rice as well. Probably a better strategy if you are planning several reuses as the potatoes will get mushy on reheat. Chuck will do very well just cut all visible fat. 2) This recipe tends to come out too thin. About a half hour before serving, remove most of the liquid, reduce by half and add 1 -2 tblsp of cornstarch (mixed with small amt of water first). Then add this gravy back to the dish. 3) The flavor is a little unbalanced. Consider adding 6 oz of tomato paste to the reducing mixture -- you can add to your taste.. 4) To give it a little more depth, you can add very small chunks of carrots to the crockpot near the beginning. Also 3 or 3 roasted poblano peppers add mexican flavor and a very small amount of heat. Spray with oil, blacken under broiler, put in plastic covered bowl for 10 minutes to make it easy to remove skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Tastes SUPER yummy, but the potatoes and bell pepper turn to mush if you put them in at the start of cooking. Will put them in the last 2 hours of cooking next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
A delicious recipe!! I've cooked Carne Guisada for years using a more difficult recipe and this one is equally as good. We grew up having it over rice. For those of you who don't know good Carne Guisada .. the cut of meat makes a difference and chuck roast is the best you can use. Other cuts don't cook up as tender. Sure you can trim some of the fat. The "red" as one reviewer referred to is the chili powder. When you pour that off, you loose the flavor. The potatoes need to go in at first .. that's what thickens this up. For the reviewer who is upset with others who rate the dish after their changes. Well said!!! You can't honestly judge something you made changes to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Very good. Thanks for posting. My native Mexican bf liked this (but he did say its deffinatley not traditionall how its made ingredients wise also). I did make one change. I filled the 1/4 measuring cup 3/4 the way with chili powder and topped it off with cayenne pepper to bring up the heat =] Would deffinatley make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna7532

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Maine, USA
Living In: Knox, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States