Easy Slow Cooker Apple Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Tried this recipe last night using Honey Crisp Apples and butterflying the roast, it was fantastic, the flavor of the fruit infuses the meat with a sweet and succulent accent of apple and the meat was soo tender that I literally could not pull it out of the crock pot without it falling to pieces (wound up using a large spoon, which worked out well because it let me get the right amount of sauce with each serving). This one is definitely one you should try for your family. One thing to note though. I used a 6-quart crock pot and cut the recipe in half (on account of my only having a 3.5lb roast) and it filled the crock pot perfectly, I highly doubt the full recipe would have even come close to fitting in my crock pot. If you are going to make this recipe then pay attention to the amount of ingredients that you rack up, you may need to cut this in half to make it fit your cookware.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cchamil1985

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
My husband HATES applesauce and he had seconds. The meat was perfect and the flavors worked so well together. I used a cinnamon stick instead of ground cinnamon. I also cut the recipe in half,lowered the temperature 4hrs into the cooking time and shortened the cooking time to 6 hrs. perfect dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
My family loved this recipe. My daughter wanted to give it 6 stars! We had enough left over that we'll be eating pulled pork sandwiches later on this week. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I am making this for my anni. today, it is in the slow cooker waiting for my hubby to get home. i used thin strips of pork tenderloin, so it only took about 3 hrs. house smells great, and it tatses great! i have stolen a few bites! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I made this for my parents when they came to visit. Dad's a picky eater and we all loved it! I couldn't get as large a pork shoulder roast, so I sub with two smaller pork shoulder roasts, which altered cook time a lot. Very excellent, will certainly be making again. Thanks for Sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
The meat turned out very tender. I cooked it on low for 8 hours, and it turned out perfect. DH loved it! This was something different than we normally have, and it is always fun to try new things. I will definitely make it again. Like other reviews, it was missing a little "something". Next time I will skip the apple sauce, or at least GREATLY reduce it to maybe 1/3-1/2 cup. I will add an extra onion and some garlic. The sweet and warm flavor of the apples and cinnamon need a back-bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I have made this several times and shared it with friends and LOVE it. Very, very tender meat. I do use more sliced apples and onions and less apple sauce than called for. My favorite way to eat this is shredded in a bowl, with a sprinkling of sharp cheddar and a generous dollop of hot or sriracha sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I seared the pork with an all seasoning before putting it in the slow cooker. I like a little salty with sweet. I also used Apple pie spice instead of just cinnamon, because I was out of cinnamon. It was GREAT!I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
left out the onions. was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I loved this. I added regular vinegar and cooked on low instead of high. I then used a recipe from here for quick easy dinner rolls (no yeast) and made it into one layer. When it was done cooking, I put the pork and apple mixture on top. Delicious! And I used regular applesauce and no cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States