Easy Slow Cooker Apple Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
The meat turned out very tender. I cooked it on low for 8 hours, and it turned out perfect. DH loved it! This was something different than we normally have, and it is always fun to try new things. I will definitely make it again. Like other reviews, it was missing a little "something". Next time I will skip the apple sauce, or at least GREATLY reduce it to maybe 1/3-1/2 cup. I will add an extra onion and some garlic. The sweet and warm flavor of the apples and cinnamon need a back-bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I am making this for my anni. today, it is in the slow cooker waiting for my hubby to get home. i used thin strips of pork tenderloin, so it only took about 3 hrs. house smells great, and it tatses great! i have stolen a few bites! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
My family loved this recipe. My daughter wanted to give it 6 stars! We had enough left over that we'll be eating pulled pork sandwiches later on this week. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
My husband HATES applesauce and he had seconds. The meat was perfect and the flavors worked so well together. I used a cinnamon stick instead of ground cinnamon. I also cut the recipe in half,lowered the temperature 4hrs into the cooking time and shortened the cooking time to 6 hrs. perfect dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Tried this recipe last night using Honey Crisp Apples and butterflying the roast, it was fantastic, the flavor of the fruit infuses the meat with a sweet and succulent accent of apple and the meat was soo tender that I literally could not pull it out of the crock pot without it falling to pieces (wound up using a large spoon, which worked out well because it let me get the right amount of sauce with each serving). This one is definitely one you should try for your family. One thing to note though. I used a 6-quart crock pot and cut the recipe in half (on account of my only having a 3.5lb roast) and it filled the crock pot perfectly, I highly doubt the full recipe would have even come close to fitting in my crock pot. If you are going to make this recipe then pay attention to the amount of ingredients that you rack up, you may need to cut this in half to make it fit your cookware.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cchamil1985

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
So VERY disappointed in this and went strictly on the authors rating instead of the other ppl on the site....I wont do that again. It was VERY bland and the apples and sauce did nothing for me. The only thing good about this was how tender it was but it left alot to be desired. I followed the recipe perfectly so know that it turned out the way it was supposed to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
The roast was tender but after 8 hours who wouldnt be. I did not care for the bland apples or apple sauce at all.. It was nit nearly as good as i expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tegan Hipsher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atchison, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I made this for my parents when they came to visit. Dad's a picky eater and we all loved it! I couldn't get as large a pork shoulder roast, so I sub with two smaller pork shoulder roasts, which altered cook time a lot. Very excellent, will certainly be making again. Thanks for Sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This turned out nicely. We used pork tenderloin instead of roast because that was all the grocery store had at the time. I also used onion powder instead of onions. The flavor was good and a nice change of pace from other recipes I have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I had high hopes on this recipe and I cooked it as per the instructions and yes, it smelled wonderful but I was not at all happy with the results. It was bland and just did not live up to the authors hype on this recipe. Sorry, did not like it and probably will not prepare it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimim523

Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States