Easy Shepherd's Pie with Garlic Romano Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This one is definately going in our family cookbook! Everyone went back for seconds and thirds. The only things we changed was the veggies and we used fresh shredded carrots and zucchini and fresh green beans and cooked them until tender crisp prior to putting then in the pan to cook in the oven. I cant say this could get any better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This came out quite good. The only changes I made were adding sour cream to the potatoes and using frozen veggies instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Riding, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Following some suggestions, and since i'm not a fan of vegitables, i only used half the can of tomatoes. I couldn't believe how good this was! It's definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This was so good. Definitely a new favorite in our house. I didn't have a lot of time, so I used powdered potatoes instead of boiling fresh ones, but the recipe still turned out great! Thanks - made a wonderful St. Pat's Day dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Great twist on an old favorite. I used a butternut squash instead of potatoes (more fiber and nutrients and it cooks up to have the exact some texture with more flavor). Next time I will cut the garlic in half, however. We love garlic but this was just a little too much! Very easy and very good. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This recipe was great. I cut it in half and made it for my girlfriend and I tonight. I used peas and corn for the veggies. I loved the flavors from the basil and rosemary. It was very filling. It paired great with a home brewed English porter. I am definitely making this again. I used ground sirloin tonight but plan on trying it with venison and with lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clawson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
My husband did not like this at all. He couldn't quite explain what it was about it he didn't like. One of my boys thought it was OK...he mainly liked the potatoes, I think. Other son did not like it too much. Maybe it would be better to peel the potatoes and use frozen veges (?). I used canned Veg-All - I think that's what it was called. I only tasted a little bit and I thought it was alright. My hubby wants me to throw out the recipe! (Sorry!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Very easy and VERY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I did not find this "easy." It took me an hour to prepare it plus cooking time. And it was just okay. The romano was a bit overpowering. Have half left over (no one ate much) and am hoping it will be better tomorrow. Won't make this again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
I would agree about the potatoes, they need more like 20-25 minutes, even cut up. I would also suggest simmering the beef mixture for another 10 minutes to reduce the water. Other than that, great recipe. I would make it again. Btw, great potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States