Easy Shepherd's Pie with Garlic Romano Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
YUMMY! I omitted the diced tomatoes since I do not care for them, used frozen mixed veggies instead of canned, and used two packages of "Simply Potatoes" mashed potatoes instead of making them from scratch. I also added shredded mozzerella to the potato mixture before baking and it was awesome! My husband does not like veggies and he had seconds. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
True, this shepherd's pie is a bit different from what I grew up on but by using frozen veg it came out alright. The potatoes on top of this were FANTASTIC!!! I was leary of using the amount of garlic it called for so I cut back a bit but will definetely make this next time using the full amount. Husband enjoyed this a lot and it was much better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
I was skeptical, but this was a very delicious dinner. My husband, son and guest all loved it and we didn't have any leftovers! Next time I will use a deep dish pan because this bubbled over in the oven. I also used one can of cut green beans and one can of corn. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Edible but not my favorite flavors together. Reminded me more of spaghetti. Will stick with the more traditional recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Georgia, USA
Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
A nice change from the shepherd's pie I grew up on. I loved the cheesy garlicy potatoes..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coronach, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Ljugarn, Gotlands, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ELLEN666
Reviewed: May 30, 2006
Lovely the whole family enjoyed this, i did add some beef gravy granules to thicken up the sauce and that worked really well.The potatoe top was excellent so much flavour very very yummy a great recipe thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELLEN666

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Croydon, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: Penge, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
My entire family loved this! I made it with frozen veggies and chicken broth, and I used home-canned tomato puree in place of the diced tomatoes and tomato paste. It was delicious! I will most definitely be serving this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
Thanks to the many reviews claiming the potatoes were fantastic and the meat was just "ok", I took some suggestions from a couple of different recipes to improve the meat. I omitted the rosemary (not a fan of the herb) and added a packet of brown gravy mix and a beef bouillon cube to the water. I added way more water than called for, hoping to have more gravy, but was still pretty unsuccesful with that. I only used 15 oz veggies (frozen) and thought that was plenty. I also added alot more milk to the potatoes to make them easier to spread. Consistent with most of the reviews, I thought the potatoes were amazing!! I think I'll continue to look for another recipe for the filling...something with a bit more flavor and a lot more gravy, but will without a doubt use these potatoes. This was an excellent start though, and my boyfriend devoured it (you're your own worst critic, right?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
didn't care for canned veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Wow this was an easy quick dinner to make and serve. I used a mix of cheeses that I had left over in the fridge and it was great. Thanks for a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Brock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marshall, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States