Easy Shepherd's Pie with Garlic Romano Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 19, 2006
My entire family loved this! I made it with frozen veggies and chicken broth, and I used home-canned tomato puree in place of the diced tomatoes and tomato paste. It was delicious! I will most definitely be serving this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
Thanks to the many reviews claiming the potatoes were fantastic and the meat was just "ok", I took some suggestions from a couple of different recipes to improve the meat. I omitted the rosemary (not a fan of the herb) and added a packet of brown gravy mix and a beef bouillon cube to the water. I added way more water than called for, hoping to have more gravy, but was still pretty unsuccesful with that. I only used 15 oz veggies (frozen) and thought that was plenty. I also added alot more milk to the potatoes to make them easier to spread. Consistent with most of the reviews, I thought the potatoes were amazing!! I think I'll continue to look for another recipe for the filling...something with a bit more flavor and a lot more gravy, but will without a doubt use these potatoes. This was an excellent start though, and my boyfriend devoured it (you're your own worst critic, right?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
didn't care for canned veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Wow this was an easy quick dinner to make and serve. I used a mix of cheeses that I had left over in the fridge and it was great. Thanks for a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherryboyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marshall, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
This recipe is good and easy. Ours came out rather wet and soupy. I would add less vegetables next time. A few days after making this I had some shepard's pie off a friend's plate at an Irish restaurant. The potatoes were not as good as this recipe, but I liked the meat portion better. Less chunky consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Way beyong the 10 minute cooking time for the potatoes, even though I peeled and quartered mine. Now after rereading the recipe I'm assuming the skins are left on and the potatoes are the little baby reds. I think the potato directions are sketchy (particularly for a novice cook). If you are on any kind of dinner schedule, you need to adjust your timetable accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
This was a hit with me and the hubby. Very tasty and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
Very good shepherd's pie! We ate all the leftovers, no problem :) I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
I will make this often. The potatoes were delicious! I used frozen corn (thawed) and 1 can of Italian green beans (drained) instead of the mixed veggies and added extra garlic. Great comforting meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States