Easy Shepherd's Pie with Garlic Romano Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Very tasty! I added more garlic and used a light Celtic cheddar, and it turned out great! My family thought it could have used slightly more potatoes, so I might add a potato or two next time to balance the meat and potatoes a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Delicious, my family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This was wonderful. I did add cheese and can't imagine it without. My husband who never eats leftovers ate this 3 days in a row.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Nice variation on the potatoes (Romano cheese). I use heavy cream instead of milk along with butter, garlic powder, salt and pepper to make my mashed potatoes. For an easy BUSY MOM recipe, add a large can of vegetable soup to the beef after it is browned (instead of adding veggies or tomato sauce). Let it simmer for a few minutes and then place beef mixture in the bottom of a glass baking dish. Continue layering with a large can of sweet corn (drained) and then mashed potatoes. Top with pats of butter and paprika - and serve with beef gravy. Talk about a crowd pleaser! You can make this dish well in advance and keep it in the fridge until you get home from work. Pop it in the oven on at 350 for approximately 1/2 hour and serve with a green leafy salad. My family loves this meal, and I am thankful that it is so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermitage, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This was great! Really very easy and tasty. We halved the recipe, and used a 16 oz bag of frozen California mix veggies (defrosted in the microwave and left/pressed to drain) that we diced in place of the canned veggies. I didn't care for the rosemary, but I never do :) so I'll substitute another herb for that next time. Also used Parmesan instead of Romano because we always have a hunk in the house. We added a few large spoonfuls of baked winter squash to the potatoes, per another reviewer's suggestion, and you couldn't even taste it - but it added vitamins for sure! Left out the butter in the potatoes, but we may have added just a little more Parmesan in its place... :) Thanks for the recipe - it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
A pretty good casserole. I have a similar recipe I make that uses tomato soup. Didn't have any so I tried this recipe, as I had the ingrediants on hand. The potatoes were fabulous! I used parmejan cheese and they were absolutly delicious! I still think I'm partial to my own recipe, but will definitely use this potato recipe on top. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heybejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This one is definately going in our family cookbook! Everyone went back for seconds and thirds. The only things we changed was the veggies and we used fresh shredded carrots and zucchini and fresh green beans and cooked them until tender crisp prior to putting then in the pan to cook in the oven. I cant say this could get any better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This came out quite good. The only changes I made were adding sour cream to the potatoes and using frozen veggies instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Riding, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Following some suggestions, and since i'm not a fan of vegitables, i only used half the can of tomatoes. I couldn't believe how good this was! It's definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This was so good. Definitely a new favorite in our house. I didn't have a lot of time, so I used powdered potatoes instead of boiling fresh ones, but the recipe still turned out great! Thanks - made a wonderful St. Pat's Day dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States