Easy Shepherd's Pie with Garlic Romano Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
This was really good! I made this because hubs had dental work done and wanted something soft. Really pleased. I made 4 crocks (the kind with the tops by Corning). I put 2 in the freezer for another time. I followed the recipe only I used frozen mixed vegetables. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I had limited items at home and did an ingredient search based on things i had in my pantry. This recipe popped up and I'm glad it did. I used a mix of red potatoes and yellow yukon gold, green beans, peas, carrots, corn and mushrooms. then diced tomatoes w/green chilies. Instead of tomato sauce(i didn't have) i used a can of cream of mushroom soup to hold it all together. I used Italian blend cheese in the potatoes. Cooked in a 13x9 in pan. A hodge-podge meal for cheapo! Very good! Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This is a great basic recipe that can be easily altered to your taste! In my most recent version, I used fresh vegetables (peas and green beans), diced them and sauteed them in a bit of olive oil in a skillet before adding them to the beef. After the beef was browned, I added 1/2 cup of red wine and reduced the mixture until most of the liquid was evaporated. Then I mixed in the vegetables and herbs. This added a lot of flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonyapizza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Delft, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicki Crain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Orland, California, USA
Living In: Red Bluff, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This is so good and easy to make. My husband and boys love it and request it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Love it. Easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Delicious. I had to use what was in the kitchen so I cut up a fresh tomato, used a can of corn and a can of green beans and 2 packets of instant mashed potatoes and it was so good. Next time I am going to add some hot sauce and Worcestershire since I put hot sauce on it when I eat it anyway,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This is a great basic recipe that you can easily customize. I put mushrooms, black olives and green peppers in with the meat---since I did not have any vegetables. And my husband added hot peppers to his. Great recipe---thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosemont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Kimberton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
This was just "Eh". I made it exactly how the recipe called for. I LOVE tomatoes but I have to say they don't belong in Shepherd's Pie. It just didn't seem right. The Mashed Potatoes were amazing however and the only reason I gave it 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
My family really enjoyed this dish. The slight alterations I made were to not use the tomato sauce or tomatoes, and instead of dried herbs I used fresh. Also in place of red potatoes I used russet. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyto4sweeties

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States