Easy Shepherd's Pie with Garlic Romano Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Just made this tonight for friends and family and got 6 5 stars ratings on the dish. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I omitted the diced tomatoes and used a 10oz package of frozen mixed veggies. Good, yummy comfort food. The recipe fit perfectly into a 7x11 glass baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Delicious and easy to make. I love the potatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This shepherd's pie is very tasty. The only (minor) problems with this recipe were that the meat mixture needs to be seasoned with salt & pepper and that the potatoes need to be cooked for way longer than 10 minutes. I also used frozen mixed vegetables instead of canned vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This was GREAT! The only changes I made was to use a can of corn and a can of peas, and used cheddar cheese since that was what I had on hand. Split into two 8 x 8 pans (only cooking for 2) and froze the extra pan. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Delicious! Everyone loved this, even my 14 month old granddaughter. The mashed potatoes are so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
The seasonings in this recipe were a bit much for my taste and I even only used half. It was also a bit runny. Next time I will use less seasonings, cut the tomato sauce all together, and use 1.5 pounds of meat instead of 1 pound. For the potatoes I will cut the oregano and use fresh green onions instead. My potatoes were a bit gooey, but I think its my fault as I used too much cheese. It was a good base recipe, but I will definitely be making some changes to suit my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Fresh rosemary will make this even more delicious, since dried will feel like you've bitten into a few tiny toothpicks. My husband and I love this one. I add a bay leaf or two on top for garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Excellent meal. Large portion - perfect for a hungry family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I usually use a shepherd's pie recipe with cream of mushroom soup, but wanted to try something different. I don't think I'll ever go back, this is quite good. I did make a number of changes, as follows: - I cut the whole recipe in half and used an 8x8 casserole dish. - I used Italian turkey sausage instead of ground beef (as suggested by others). This gives it a great flavor. - I tried to get rid of some of the grease from the ground turkey before adding the tomato sauce and veggies. - I omitted the can of diced tomatoes (I'm a bit peculiar about where I like my tomatoes and shepherd's pie is not one of them). - Instead of the canned vegetables, I used fresh asparagus, red bell pepper, and mushrooms. I really enjoyed this combination. - I steamed the potatoes instead of boiling them (heard this keeps in more of the nutrients) - this increased the cooking time to 20 minutes. - I added some feta cheese to the potato mixture; I don't know if this had much effect on the final product. - I used the water from the boiled potatoes instead of milk (healthier). - I didn't broil it at the end (my broiler is frustrating - separate from the main oven - didn't seem worth it). Overall, I really enjoyed this. And it's a super easy recipe. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salsera713

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallandale, Florida, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States