Easy Shepherd's Pie with Garlic Romano Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I LOVED this! I didn't feel like putting in the effort to make the potatoes from scratch, so I did as another reviewer suggested and prepared two packages of "Simply Potatoes," mixing in the cheese, a couple splashes of half and half, garlic powder, chopped chives, and a few shakes of Italian seasoning. My oven doesn't have a broiler, but it turned out just fine, even though I'd have liked a browned crust. I put some of the excess cheese on top and it melted nicely! I also used one bag of frozen veggies instead of canned. When prepared with ready-made potatoes, this is SUPER easy and quick to put together. I'll make this again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sporkism

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stilwell, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
The potatoes on this were amazing. My daughter scraped out the pan I mashed them in and said, always make these potatoes. The whole dish was great as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Followed directions exactly, except for using frozen mixed veggies in place of the canned and I left the peels on the red potatoes. This is SO good. Better the next day. I will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I've made this recipe a couple of times now - it's great! And so easy to modify to your personal preferences. Instead of canned veggies, I dice about 4-5 large carrots to cook with the onions, and then throw in about a cup of frozen peas right before taking the beef mixture off the stove. I use about 2lbs of red potatoes, weighed before peeled, and a head of cauliflower for the mash. I also use greek yogurt instead of butter - we really like the taste and texture and it's much healthier. I omit the diced tomatoes altogether. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Just made this tonight for friends and family and got 6 5 stars ratings on the dish. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I omitted the diced tomatoes and used a 10oz package of frozen mixed veggies. Good, yummy comfort food. The recipe fit perfectly into a 7x11 glass baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Delicious and easy to make. I love the potatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This shepherd's pie is very tasty. The only (minor) problems with this recipe were that the meat mixture needs to be seasoned with salt & pepper and that the potatoes need to be cooked for way longer than 10 minutes. I also used frozen mixed vegetables instead of canned vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This was GREAT! The only changes I made was to use a can of corn and a can of peas, and used cheddar cheese since that was what I had on hand. Split into two 8 x 8 pans (only cooking for 2) and froze the extra pan. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Delicious! Everyone loved this, even my 14 month old granddaughter. The mashed potatoes are so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States