Easy Shakshuka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
I give this recipe 5 stars It was a great alternative to my usual breakfast I will make this from now on least once a week it was delicious easy and fast to make and it is vegetarian and healthy Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leni

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
NOT BAD BUT I ADDED CHICK PEAS AND ZUCCHINI AND MUSHROOMS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
this was very good, but the eggs took awhile to set. ended up putting a lid on to speed them up. Next time I will just do the eggs separate. Did use the tomatoes with basil and garlic per other suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Love this dish. As a matter of taste I like mine with more garlic and with more hot peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I really liked this for a meatless option. It was easy to make and tasted great. Nice for a hot weather meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Treasure Cooper

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Pretty good with a slice of toast, since we didn't have pita or tortilla. Also didn't have paprika or cumin, so I basically did the following...sauteed garlic, onion, and 1 jalapeno in olive oil, then stirred in a 14-oz can of fire-roasted tomatoes with some cayenne and garlic powder, a handful of cherry tomatoes, and 5 pieces of pickled jalapeno diced. After sauteing a while, it got dry, so I added a dash of tomato sauce and maybe 1/4-1/2 cup of chicken stock. After about 15 minutes total, I cracked 4 eggs into a small bowl and slid them in, then covered and cooked for 2-3 minutes more. The yolks were runny and it was perfect. I spooned them onto a plate and topped with crumbled feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I tried this dish, using crushed tomatoes because that's what I had. It was still great. Didn't have pita bread, so I made garlic bread. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I made Shakshuka for 12 people last night in less then an hour. This recipe is indeed easy and fast. When I went to the grocey store though I couldn't find pickeld Jalapeno peppers. Not having time to do something with lives Jalapeno, I add crushed red pepper and double the garlic to increase the spice level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I am a big fan of shakshuka but like this recipe, I like to improvise on just about any recipe I read. Just some options for you all... I make it a few ways but my favorite is made by using 28oz can of fire roasted tomatoes w green chilies. I add baby Bella mushrooms, heads of asparagus and onions to the sauce along with garlic, cumin and spicy paprika. I have even used okra in place of asparagus if you want to go another route. If I am unhappy with spice level I will add some chipotle to give it some kick or throw some dried chilies into the mix. Salt and pepper to taste. Add parsley on top and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I made this for dinner last night. It was very simple and tasty but not as spicy as I would have liked. I did use regular jalapenos since I couldn't find pickled. I will make again and play around with some spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Shakshuka

Eggs gently poached in a robust tomato-pepper sauce.

Easy Quiche

A delicious, quick-and-easy quiche with broccoli, ham, and cheese.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States