Easy Shake and Bake Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
I hate chicken skin, so I was apprehensive about making this for my husband. The skin, when the chicken was done, snapped like a twig. I'm going to gain ten pounds eating the skin now! And my husband says it's the best chicken he's ever had. (even better than his mom's!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
Very good. I love the buttery flavor it provides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marshall, Missouri, USA
Living In: Tebbetts, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
This is the best baked chicken I have ever had! My family loved it too. I also cut back the margarine to 1/4 cup & the oven temp to 425 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Moritz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
I also used skinless, boneless chicken breasts. I didn't have sage, so I used oregano instead. It was still very good and easy. I think I will cut down the butter next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
I followed another reviewer's advice and used skinless boneless chicken breasts because that was all I had. It came out very good. Next time I think I might use less butter, I think 1/2 cup was too much. I will try this again with drumsticks to see how that comes out as well! Very easy versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2004
This recipe caught my attention because I was raised with the original "Shake&Bake" and I always helped. I tired this, with the help of my daughter, and it came out just like I remember! I did add a few extra spices - a teaspoon each of garlic powder, dried parsley and Old Bay seasoning - and it was wonderful! I made it with drumsticks and my kids loved it. I will reduce the amount of butter next time to 1/4 cup or less. Overall this recipe was, quick, easy and really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
This recipe ROCKS. I can't believe how simple, fast, and tasty it is! I used boneless breasts (on hand) and cut them in half. I also used olive oil, as my husband can't have dairy. Because of it's ease and delicious flavor, this is going to become a weekly meal for us. Thank you Candy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
I fixed this baked chicken for my mom's 80th birthday dinner. It was a winner by the whole family especially by my sweet husband. I used thighs and legs and changed the spices somewhat. I added onion powder, garlic powder, salt and pepper. I left out the paprika and sage. Also I used only 1/4 cup of butter, as suggested by others. I will be making this again. Thanks Candy for this great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
I tried this last night with chicken thighs...I used alittle onion and garlic powder and instead of salt...I used seasoning salt...the skin came came off very crispy and meat was very moist and juiciy...my hubby really liked it and asked me to make it again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
Very fast to make and delicious!! Nice and tender too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 497) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States