Easy Shake and Bake Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
I did not care for this recipe. Won't be tring this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Alden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
I tried this recipe after reading some reviews and doubled the spices. I also brushed olive oil on the chicken before I dipped it in the flour w/parmesan. In addition I did only use 1/4 cup butter and it was enough for our tastes. It came out tender, moist and the covering was really tasty.I will make this recipe again since my family thoroughly enjoyed the chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whachagotcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
Easy and excellent. I doubled all of the spices except the salt and used 1 tsp of lowrys seasoning instead of sage and added 1 tsp of pepper.Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
If made as written, it is good. But, the next time I made it I changed it up a bit. Seasoned the chicken lightly with season salt and pepper before putting the flour mixture on. That really helps to give the chicken itself some extra flavor. I have used purchased seasoned flour, and I have made my own seasoned flour with season salt, garlic powder, onion powder, celery salt, paprika, pepper and regular salt. It is important to realize that you have to use more seasoning in the flour mixture than you think you need. Without enough seasoning, the breading will be bland. If you don't season the chicken a little before breading it, the chicken is a little bland. This recipe is an excellent starter recipe that can be changed easily according to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
This was terrific! Heeded some recommendations - put a little butter in the 9x13 pan melted it/preheated as the oven came to temp. Used boneless skinless breasts cut vertically into 4 or 5 pieces each. Used some flour, panko, parm/Asiago and regular crumbs. I seasoned things according suggestions, our tastes and what I had on hand. I noticed it getting a little too brown, too fast when I turned the pieces so I cut the temp to 425 and that worked. I think I'll start at 425 next time. I piled some extra crumb stuff on top when I turned the pieces. It took less than 20 min. per side and was tender and juicy. One caveat. If you're going to add Parmesan to your coating, watch your salt. You may not need more than 1/4-1/2 tsp. Thanks so much for sharing - everyone at our 3 generation dinner table loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
I used less butter and half the amount of salt. To the person that wanted to use bread crumbs or cornflakes and parm--that makes this an ENTIRELY different recipe. RATE the recipe written--using less oil and less salt didn't alter the original recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Yes Delicious. Helpful Hint: Use cereal bags to shake chicken in. They hold up nice and cheaper than plastic bags.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I actually didn't have sage, so substituted poultry seasoning and this was a hit in our family! Instead of flour I used panko crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stafford, Texas, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
This is such an easy recipe and turned out nicely golden and crispy. I only used two tablespoons of butter for 4 chicken thighs for hubby and I. I really think you could skip the butter altogether. The chicken was surrounded by lots grease as well as the butter by the time cooking was complete. So skip the butter, you won't need it. I doubled up on the paprika for a little more color and used seasoning salt instead of regular. I also added both onion and garlic powders. So versatile - just add seasonings of your choice to taste. The lightly seasoned coating sure lets the flavor of the chicken shine through. Although I have bought some tasteless chicken in the past I got lucky this time with chicken loaded with natural flavor. I suggest if you know your chicken may be lacking in flavor in advance to amp up the seasoning a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Very good and no mysterious ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 509) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Easy BBQ Bake

A perfect recipe for indoor BBQ chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States