Easy Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Entire family loved this - but I only sliced 5 potatoes (microwaved for 4 minutes), used cheddar and parmesan cheeses, added garlic powder, and mixed the flour and milk before pouring. Definitely cook covered for 30 mins and uncovered for 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillbilly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
My husband LOVED this recipe! It was very simple to make and tasted wonderful. Make sure to cut the potatoes think enough and don't make too many layers or the potatoes don't get soft enough. I also added scallions in between the layers to add a hint of onion flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
I made it with cheddar cheese soup. The only thing I didn't like was how runny it was. Next time I will use less milk. Also bump up the cooking time by 30 Min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
I found the prepartion to be simple and easy. However, like many other people, I found the cooking time to be completely off! After cooking for the specified time, the potatoes had barely cooked. I ended up having to cook the potatoes for at least another hour. Other problems: there wasn't enough cheese and I wasn't sure whether to cover the dish or not. When I finally was able to eat the dish, I didn't think it tasted very good. A suggestion to anyone else who is thnking about cooking this dish, cook it covered with tin foil. Also, use shredded cheese of your choice. The cheese will melt more evenly. And if you want a little more flavor, add some cubed ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I am still in the middle of cooking this recipe and it is just awful. My potatoes have been in well over the cooking time and are still not done, and I used the potato peeler to slice my potatoes paper thin!! I had no problem with the milk and flour not mixing, but I did have to add more milk because it was starting to get dry. From my taste tests so far, it doesn't have much flavor, even though I added onion and garlic powder....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Very good with a few changes. Cover and bake for 40, remove foil cook for 30 more. I sauteed onion added flour milk and cheese and made a thick sauce to pour over. Added paprika, parsley, red pepper, & garlic. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
This was a really good recipe, but did not seem like scalloped potatoes. My mother in law makes a cheesy potato recipe and this seemed more like a version of her recipe. I put cubed ham into mine. We really like it as a ham and cheesy potato casserole though. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Frrst time to make this recipe. I halved the entire recipe, used an amber glass round shallow dish, sliced the potatoes on a madeline thin, layered them sparsely and used Velveeta cheese. I did have to bake them 1 hr, uncovered and they turned out beautiful and yummy with our ham. I will definetly be using this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
I think this dish is very oily but in small amounts its ok. perfect with steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
This recipe was horrid. I agree that the potatoes came out floating in milk. Had to through this away and quickly make brown rice to substitute. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States