Easy Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I liked this recipe because it was very simple to make. I took the advise of one reviewer and cooked the sliced potatoes in boiling water, max 10 mins. Next time I make this recipe I will pour a little heavy cream on each layer along with the flour. That should make it a little more rich. I baked mine for about 20-25 mins turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Flavor was good but time recommendation was terrible! I cooked it at 400 for an hour and then in the microwave for about 10 min and there were still some hard/crunchy potatoes. I would suggest making these but partially boil the potatoes first. I also salted the layers lightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Made this once before and, just as everyone else has mentioned, took a while to cook. Will make it again tonight with a few adjustments: will cook covered with foil for most of the time and just take foil off at the end; put far less flour; more milk; add onion and garlic powder and maybe some chili powder; will use shredded cheese rather than slices. Was yummy with mozzerella though. Don't really know why some reviews say that the water just floated at the bottom, mine turned out edible and pretty yummy. With some alterations, I think it will be very yummy tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by New Cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
easy and good...i added a little chili powder to it too for kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyme, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Montpelier, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
this recipe was okay i guess. it took forever for the potatoes to cook! not the best recipe, thats for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
The cooking time is not even close. I planned around this time so the rest of my meal was ready and we waited, and waited on these. I let them cook over an hour (vs 20 min) and they STILL weren't really done. Flavor wasn't that great either. First thing I've ever made my husband didn't like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I am rating this a 4 star because of taste. I did learn one thing while making this recipe, that is, pre-cook your potatoes before baking. The recipe called for 20 minutes of cook time and it took a while longer. Maybe it was an oversight on my part, but maaking them again I pre-cooked and they cooked much faster and like i said it is well worth your time if you like scalloped potatoes. They turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jasper, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
For well-cooked potatoes in this recipe, omit the final layer of cheese; scald the milk before pouring it over the potatoes; and cover tightly with foil for about the first 45 minutes. Then, uncover, add the final layer of cheese and bake until the cheese is browned and bubbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Reduce flour and definitely halve it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This recipe is awesome. I loved it. I did cut the recipe in half, just because I was only cooking for two. The only thing I added to this was white onion to each layer. I sauteed them before baking. It's hard to describe how thin I sliced the potatoes but I would say 1/4 of an inch. It also does not take twenty minutes. It takes an hour at 350 degrees. Twenty minutes is probably if you sliced the potatoes so thin, which I don't know how to even do that because it's hard to slice potatoes really thin. Ultimately, good side dish and very yummy. I think the onions make it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States