Easy Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
Here's a tip for those of you who found the potatoes were undercooked: after slicing potatoes, throw them into a pot of boiling water for 5 or 10 minutes, just to get them a bit tender, then rinse in cold water before continuing with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
556 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
This was the first time I made scalloped potatoes. I followed the recipe, and it turned out great! The potatoes were tender after 1 hour of cooking. I did mix the milk and flour first before pouring over potatoes. For those who found the potato not done after recipe cooking time, I suspect the reason was the potatoes. Someone told me there are many different kinds of potatoes, and they all require different cooking time. All I use is russet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
Good simple recipe . I added jalepeno cheese instead of cheddar and ham to it as well as a bit of garlic powder,& a dash of salt and onions. Covered dish with aluminum foil and baked for about 1 1/2 hrs . rate it a 5 star with my family :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
I def. should have read the reviews before I made this. Just like everyone else stated the cooking time is an extra 2 hours. Which is not what I expected. The finished product is ok, yet after 2 hours the potatoes are still kinda hard. I would make them again but with a completely different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alhambra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
I cut back on the number of potatoes to 6 and sliced them very thin. I covered them and baked the for 45 minutes and then let them sit in the oven until the rest of dinner was ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
Delicious! Couldn't have been easier. We added more cheese, and a little more milk. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
its nice ti find a recipe that is easy to make that you dont need alot of things for one dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYLUCK032964

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Nuys, California, USA
Living In: Blue Mountain, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
I had a really bad time with this recipe. After following the recipe and cooking this for the recommended time, I was surprised to open a dish of raw sliced potatoes floating in milk. I put it in the oven for 2 more hours and then 2 more and had a really unpleasant potato cake (not fully cooked). I'm not sure, but I think the potatoes need to be partly cooked before slicing and layering. And then add cheese sauce (??). Quite an unpleasant experience. Lots of potatoes and cheese wasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
This recipe as written did not turn out good. I did it over because I had some time with my meat still cooking in the slow cooker. I whisked the flour in with the milk then cooked it until it began to thicken a little, added the cheese to melt, precooked the potatoes with some onions, and then added a little butter to them, tossed the potatoes and put in the baking dish. I added some garlic salt, garlic pepper, and a little cayenne to the cheese mixture and poured over the potatoes. I cooked it in the oven at 350F for 30 minutes. It turned out OK, but will use shredded sharp cheddar and Velveeta next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
The cook time is definately wrong. I followed this recipe, spent over 2 hours on it (between prep and bake time) and the potatoes never did get done. I even tried microwaving them and that helped a little, but by this time, dinner was ruined. And after all that the taste wasn't even very good, it definately needed salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States