Easy Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
I made it with cheddar cheese soup. The only thing I didn't like was how runny it was. Next time I will use less milk. Also bump up the cooking time by 30 Min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
I found the prepartion to be simple and easy. However, like many other people, I found the cooking time to be completely off! After cooking for the specified time, the potatoes had barely cooked. I ended up having to cook the potatoes for at least another hour. Other problems: there wasn't enough cheese and I wasn't sure whether to cover the dish or not. When I finally was able to eat the dish, I didn't think it tasted very good. A suggestion to anyone else who is thnking about cooking this dish, cook it covered with tin foil. Also, use shredded cheese of your choice. The cheese will melt more evenly. And if you want a little more flavor, add some cubed ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I am still in the middle of cooking this recipe and it is just awful. My potatoes have been in well over the cooking time and are still not done, and I used the potato peeler to slice my potatoes paper thin!! I had no problem with the milk and flour not mixing, but I did have to add more milk because it was starting to get dry. From my taste tests so far, it doesn't have much flavor, even though I added onion and garlic powder....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Very good with a few changes. Cover and bake for 40, remove foil cook for 30 more. I sauteed onion added flour milk and cheese and made a thick sauce to pour over. Added paprika, parsley, red pepper, & garlic. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
This was a really good recipe, but did not seem like scalloped potatoes. My mother in law makes a cheesy potato recipe and this seemed more like a version of her recipe. I put cubed ham into mine. We really like it as a ham and cheesy potato casserole though. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Frrst time to make this recipe. I halved the entire recipe, used an amber glass round shallow dish, sliced the potatoes on a madeline thin, layered them sparsely and used Velveeta cheese. I did have to bake them 1 hr, uncovered and they turned out beautiful and yummy with our ham. I will definetly be using this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
I think this dish is very oily but in small amounts its ok. perfect with steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
This recipe was horrid. I agree that the potatoes came out floating in milk. Had to through this away and quickly make brown rice to substitute. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
Here's a tip for those of you who found the potatoes were undercooked: after slicing potatoes, throw them into a pot of boiling water for 5 or 10 minutes, just to get them a bit tender, then rinse in cold water before continuing with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
552 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
This was the first time I made scalloped potatoes. I followed the recipe, and it turned out great! The potatoes were tender after 1 hour of cooking. I did mix the milk and flour first before pouring over potatoes. For those who found the potato not done after recipe cooking time, I suspect the reason was the potatoes. Someone told me there are many different kinds of potatoes, and they all require different cooking time. All I use is russet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States