Easy Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I did as some of the reviewers had suggested and mixed the flour and milk together with some garlic powder, salt and pepper. Then I covered with foil for 30 minutes and uncovered for 30 minutes. I personally thought it was rather bland but those I served it to absolutely raved so I'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
After reading all the reviews, I didn't follow this recipe to the T (I never do!), but used it as an inspiration. I am one for spices and this didn't have enough, so I added a few dashes of a blend of peppers/chillies as well as a clove of minced garlic, plus 2 tbsp sour cream. And I added 2 breasts of boiled cubed chicken to make it more of a casserole. Having read all the reviews regarding the extremely slow cooking time, I used my food processor and sliced the potatoes up really thin, but I made the mistake of not either (1) boiling them for 5-10 minutes beforehand or (2) putting it in a 13x9 baking dish (vs a 9x9 one). Despite the EXTREMELY LONG cooking time (1 hr at 375 plus 15 mins at 425!!!), this turned out DELICIOUS!!! thanks for the inspiration...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
This was an easy and tasty recipe. I used shredded cheddar and monterey jack instead of sliced cheddar. I also sliced to potatoes VERY thin to make sure they cooked in the time stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
I was not impressed. There was a lack of flavor even when I kicked it up a bit on my own. I will try another recipe next time. This one needs lots of work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Where's the flavor? I even added a little extra cheese and they still came out bland. The top also dried out leaving me with some nice discs. Other scalloped potatoe recipes may take a little more time and prep, compared to this recipe it's worth it! This reminded me of a edible white paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
I should have read the reviews before making... I doubled the recipe and made many layers. This was not good. After 1/2 hr in the oven, the top was dry and down below I could see a big milky lake. At this point, the rest of the dinner was ready to go. So, to cook the scalloped potatoes faster, I dumped the whole thing in a skillet. Brought the milk to almost boiling. Then turned it down to low and covered for 15 minutes. Came out wonderfully cheesy, potatoes were tender. It was saved! Oh, also, I used grated cheddar cheese not slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomsbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cromwell, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I should have read the reviews first. This recipe was blah. I ended up making a cheese sauce and adding it while I was cooking it. It's been in the oven for 2 hours and it's still not done. Never again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I also make this recipe omitting the cheese and using thinly sliced onions instead. Great for bbq's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I followed the reviewers' advice and mixed the flour with the milk prior to pouring it over the top. However, I think this would be better with some garlic or some additional seasoning. Definitely cover with foil - this would've taken far too long otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Pretty good, only I would use quite so many potatoes for a 2 quart casserole dish...too many.I did 2 layers and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sylva, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States