Easy Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I did as some of the reviewers had suggested and mixed the flour and milk together with some garlic powder, salt and pepper. Then I covered with foil for 30 minutes and uncovered for 30 minutes. I personally thought it was rather bland but those I served it to absolutely raved so I'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
After reading all the reviews, I didn't follow this recipe to the T (I never do!), but used it as an inspiration. I am one for spices and this didn't have enough, so I added a few dashes of a blend of peppers/chillies as well as a clove of minced garlic, plus 2 tbsp sour cream. And I added 2 breasts of boiled cubed chicken to make it more of a casserole. Having read all the reviews regarding the extremely slow cooking time, I used my food processor and sliced the potatoes up really thin, but I made the mistake of not either (1) boiling them for 5-10 minutes beforehand or (2) putting it in a 13x9 baking dish (vs a 9x9 one). Despite the EXTREMELY LONG cooking time (1 hr at 375 plus 15 mins at 425!!!), this turned out DELICIOUS!!! thanks for the inspiration...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
This was an easy and tasty recipe. I used shredded cheddar and monterey jack instead of sliced cheddar. I also sliced to potatoes VERY thin to make sure they cooked in the time stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
I was not impressed. There was a lack of flavor even when I kicked it up a bit on my own. I will try another recipe next time. This one needs lots of work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Where's the flavor? I even added a little extra cheese and they still came out bland. The top also dried out leaving me with some nice discs. Other scalloped potatoe recipes may take a little more time and prep, compared to this recipe it's worth it! This reminded me of a edible white paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
I should have read the reviews before making... I doubled the recipe and made many layers. This was not good. After 1/2 hr in the oven, the top was dry and down below I could see a big milky lake. At this point, the rest of the dinner was ready to go. So, to cook the scalloped potatoes faster, I dumped the whole thing in a skillet. Brought the milk to almost boiling. Then turned it down to low and covered for 15 minutes. Came out wonderfully cheesy, potatoes were tender. It was saved! Oh, also, I used grated cheddar cheese not slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomsbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cromwell, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I should have read the reviews first. This recipe was blah. I ended up making a cheese sauce and adding it while I was cooking it. It's been in the oven for 2 hours and it's still not done. Never again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I also make this recipe omitting the cheese and using thinly sliced onions instead. Great for bbq's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I followed the reviewers' advice and mixed the flour with the milk prior to pouring it over the top. However, I think this would be better with some garlic or some additional seasoning. Definitely cover with foil - this would've taken far too long otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Pretty good, only I would use quite so many potatoes for a 2 quart casserole dish...too many.I did 2 layers and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sylva, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States