Easy Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
Here's a tip for those of you who found the potatoes were undercooked: after slicing potatoes, throw them into a pot of boiling water for 5 or 10 minutes, just to get them a bit tender, then rinse in cold water before continuing with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
553 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
This was the first time I made scalloped potatoes. I followed the recipe, and it turned out great! The potatoes were tender after 1 hour of cooking. I did mix the milk and flour first before pouring over potatoes. For those who found the potato not done after recipe cooking time, I suspect the reason was the potatoes. Someone told me there are many different kinds of potatoes, and they all require different cooking time. All I use is russet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
The first time I made this it did not turn out at all. This time I halved the recipe, put it in a shallow casserole dish (so the milk wouldn't sit on the bottom) and covered it with a lid. After the cheese had melted thoroughly, I stirred it, flattened it out and increased the temperature to 425F. After 30 minutes I removed the lid and baked for another 10 minutes to brown and thicken the sauce a bit. That worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Entire family loved this - but I only sliced 5 potatoes (microwaved for 4 minutes), used cheddar and parmesan cheeses, added garlic powder, and mixed the flour and milk before pouring. Definitely cook covered for 30 mins and uncovered for 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillbilly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2001
Needs a much longer baking time than stated in the recipe! And that even when halving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
This was an easy and tasty recipe. I used shredded cheddar and monterey jack instead of sliced cheddar. I also sliced to potatoes VERY thin to make sure they cooked in the time stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
The flavor of this dish is decent, but there are a lot of problems along the way. First, make sure to use a shallow dish or else the milk just stays at the bottom. Second, the cheese and flour never really mixed together and the whole dish needs a lid in the oven to keep it from getting crusty and dry on top. Third, it takes more than ten minutes to prepare and at least sixty minutes in the oven. The flavor was fine, but not good enough to inspire me to try making this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
After reading all the reviews, I didn't follow this recipe to the T (I never do!), but used it as an inspiration. I am one for spices and this didn't have enough, so I added a few dashes of a blend of peppers/chillies as well as a clove of minced garlic, plus 2 tbsp sour cream. And I added 2 breasts of boiled cubed chicken to make it more of a casserole. Having read all the reviews regarding the extremely slow cooking time, I used my food processor and sliced the potatoes up really thin, but I made the mistake of not either (1) boiling them for 5-10 minutes beforehand or (2) putting it in a 13x9 baking dish (vs a 9x9 one). Despite the EXTREMELY LONG cooking time (1 hr at 375 plus 15 mins at 425!!!), this turned out DELICIOUS!!! thanks for the inspiration...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
I'm taking a star off because it did take a long time to cook. The finished product was all right, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
For well-cooked potatoes in this recipe, omit the final layer of cheese; scald the milk before pouring it over the potatoes; and cover tightly with foil for about the first 45 minutes. Then, uncover, add the final layer of cheese and bake until the cheese is browned and bubbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States