Easy Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
This recipe was very easy to make and myfamily really enjoyed it. I'm planning to serve this dish on Christmas as a side to the prime rib.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
This recipe didn't work for me. Although very easy, it didn't come out the way I had hoped. Potatoes took much longer to cook than expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
Can someone tell me why this recipe has 4 stars?? I should have read the reviews. Just about everyone including myself thought it was awful. Two hours and still have it in the oven!!! From now on I MAKE CHEESE SAUCES..that pouring the milk over bad food does not work for potaotes, mac and cheese...nada. Definilty deserves one star in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
The ingredient listing looked good, but I'm in agreement with some others: this recipe needs MORE time to cook. I could not serve it with the dinner I prepared it with, and a couple days later I cooked it more, and it STILL wasn't cooked all the way through! Maybe the potato slices need to be sliced paper thin?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
I'm only giving this four stars because we haven't tasted it yet BUT it looks soooo delicious. I also cut the ingredients in half and cooked it covered for 40 minutes, then uncovered for 15 and on broil for 5. Also stirring about 20 minutes into it. I also added onions and garlic salt.....Mmmmm, if it taste anything like it smells then I'll be back to give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
After 35 minutes, ended up serving my kids 1/2 done (if that) potatoes and melted cheese. If I wanted to take that much time to make scallop potatoes for a easy dinner, I definately would have used a different recipe using a homemade cheese sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Moore, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
I'm making this right now. We were supposed to have this with dinner, but it's taking a very long time to cook. It does need stirring, the flour just sits there. I also wish that Sarah had said a shallow dish was better. It seems to taste fine, but it REALLY needs salt. I wish I had read the reviews before I cooked it. I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I read the reviews, made it, and made it with the suggested adjustments from others. They are right though...it does take way more time to bake than the time suggested, and I found stirring it occasionally during the baking time helped mix in the milk, flour, and cheesed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
Sorry but the directions weren't clear (bake covered or uncovered?), and after baking for over an hour the potatoes were still hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
Not very impressed with this recipe. I cooked it for at least 2 1/2 hours, but the potatoes were still hard as rocks. The milk didn't blend, and the flavor wasn't that great. I reheated it for another hour the next day, and it was okay-- except that the edges were blackened and couldn't be eaten, not to mention were heck to clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Mom's Scalloped Potatoes

Perfectly creamy scalloped potatoes, just like Mom would make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States