Easy Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This recipe worked very well for me! This was my first time cooking scalloped potatoes, and I will use this recipe again! I used Havarti instead of cheddar... and it was amazing! I put them in at 400 as that was what my chicken (in a separate dish) needed to be at. It only took about 50 minutes. So yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This was a very good base for making the potatoes. I microwaved them after slicing them in two cups of water along with a chicken bullion cube. And I sued that liquid when I baked them along with 1/4 cup of lowfat half& half. I baked it for 20 minutes covered in 350 oven, then another 15 uncovered. It was a big with our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I kept this in the over well over the amount of time it called for and the potatoes were still undercooked. I added well over the amount of cheese needed and there still wasn't enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
kind of bland, not very cheese or moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I made this for Christmas dinner, used Australian White Cheddar cheese and it turned out awesome. Will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
NOt bad. I used more milk and added butter to the recipe. I also added colby and swiss cheese blend to the cheddar cheese in the recipe and it was pretty good. Not the best I've had but not bad either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This was very good it is a nice change from mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIEANNA83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Kansas, USA
Living In: Weeping Water, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This turned out well. I followed the recipe, but did add a sliced onion and more pepper. I also used evaporated milk. I'm not sure why some had to cook for 2 hours. I used a mandolin to slice the potatoes and they cooked up beautifully. I can certainly see this as a delicious casserole with some sliced ham and broccoli or asparagus. A really good base recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
My husband is a huge fan of scalloped potatoes and he had two servings but both of us agree, it wasn't that great of a dish. I think next time I will pre-boil the potato's and then let them finish cooking in the oven. im going to use a mixture of different cheeses. probably medium cheddar and provolone and I am going to use white pepper, ground dill and garlic. to add more oomf. this recipe was good but it wasnt awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHouse3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I like this dish once it was done, but I will alter it from now on. The main thing is to boil the potatoes first because it took forever for them to cook thoroughly. I'm in a high altitude area, so expect that, but it literally took 2 hours and because I wasn't expecting it to take quite that long we ended up eating our steak with no side dish! Also, I will use the suggestion to use a larger casserole dish to spread it out, rather than a deeper dish. I think I will also use a bit more cheese, as it wasn't as cheesy as I like my scalloped potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Libby

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States