Easy Sausage Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This was very simple and very good. Had it for Turkey day, much better than the boxed stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mightymiri
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This was delicious! I made changes based on what others said. I added about 1/2 cup more of broth. I uncovered it for the last 10 minutes to brown and crisp the top. I also added salt, pepper,and garlic powder. I ran out of poultry seasoning, so instead I used a combination of savory, thyme, black pepper, rosemary, and marjoram. I used less celery, but added apple. It turned out great! Definitely making it again next year. Don't forget to grease the dish first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mightymiri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Hmmmm.... I'm not sure if I like this or not. Made this to go with tonight's "after Thanksgiving" dinner that I prepared for my bf, parents and myself. I like very savory dressings/stuffings (and sometimes a little sweet - i.e. cornbread, cranberries, apples, etc.). Because my family doesn't like "sweet" dressings, but LOVES sausage (and I do too!), I decided on this recipe. I found this to be a bit bland (compared to my usual dressing). Per other reviewer's suggestions, I added about 3 1/2 to 3 3/4 cups chicken broth to moisten as I was afraid that 2 1/2 cups would produce a dry dressing (which I/my family don't like). I think 3 cups of liquid would have been about right. Some parts of the dressing were mushy and almost too saturated (yuck!). I would have made my cornbread dressing this year, but I've always wanted to try a sausage one. I think I'll go back to my cornbread dressing (and add more broth to overcome its dry texture or add some sausage to liven it up a bit). Thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Absolutely the best sausage stuffing I have ever tasted! Note--added 1/2 package of bacon & bacon drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lindenhurst, New York, USA
Living In: Avon Lake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Turned out perfect for Thanksgiving. Just the recipe I've been searching for every year and now I've finally got it. I cooked a box of long grain and wild rice and stirred that in when adding the sausage. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Nice stuffing recipe! Thanks so much! I made it for Thanksgiving 2008. I used Jimmy Dean Sage Sausage, and Sage Flavored package of stuffing cubes. I did add some sauteed mushrooms. I did make this the morning of, and I used a 10 x 15 pan to prevent mushiness. After it was done baking I kept it warm in a crock pot until we were ready to eat. I found the moisture content to be just right. A big plus was that it was soooo easy to prepare! It went into the oven with the Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole while the turkey was resting, and being carved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Herbert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Easy and excellent stuffing recipe. To spice up flavor add mushrooms (about 1 per person)1/2 tsp. black pepper, 1/2 tsp. basil, marjoram, thyme and sage. Many other reviews indicated 3.5 to 4 cups broth are necessary. They were 100% correct. I used 4 cups and it wasn't too moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This is the best stuffing recipe I have ever made! The only changes I made were that I used Jimmy Dean hot sausage because we like it spicy and only sauteed the onion and celery for a few minutes after browning the sausage to leave the veggies crunchy but followed the rest of the recipe as written. Will definitely add this to my Thanksgiving menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Very big hit for work potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This recipe by far is the easiest of the stuffing recipes. I made this last year and it was the first thing GONE. This year I will make 2x. My inlaws gobbled it up and went back or seconds and gobbled it up too. I am a 36 year old male and rarely cook but had no problem with this one. 2 tips/tricks I have for you. a) Use 1 extra cup of chicken broth (Unless you like it very dry) b) Use unsalted butter Bob Evans is probably the most sage. Next if you cant find Bob Evans Sage sausage roll use Jimmy Dean. I have made this several times over the past year and never failed yet. I have never brought home leftovers either. Anyone with basic kitchen skillset can make this recipe. Note: It does call for 14 OZ of cubed stuffing. I buy 2 12 oz boxes and measure out last 2 OZ. Happy eating!!! Cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage Stuffing

See how to make a 5-star sausage stuffing for Thanksgiving turkey.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States