Easy Sausage Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Just the recipe base I was looking for. Perfect for some stale wheat sandwich bread I found in the freezer. Cut bread into cubes while frozen makes it very easy. I used link sausage (removed from casings) because that's what I had on hand. This dish was a big hit at work, baked in a foil 11x7 pan and no clean-up. I can see all kinds of possibilities for variations in the future, but you really can't go wrong with the basic recipe either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GULFTRADE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moses Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I used sliced bagette from the grocery store day old shelf. It was already sliced thin, and therefore pretty dry. It worked great. For one pan I cut the slices into fourths, and I think the consistency when baked was better, those smaller pieces "puffed" even better than the slices. I got the sausage really brown which looked so appealing when the final dish came out of the oven. I used a tube of spicy suasage, sliced into rounds. When the sausage was done I cut the rounds into six pieces so no knives would be required at brunch. I let it sit in the refrigerator for about three hours before baking. It took an hour to bake. Everyone lived it, big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wondermom
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
When I told my family we were having strata for Christmas breakfast they were very skeptical (it's not part of the tradition). We now have a new, delicious tradition! I added sautéed mushrooms and onions to the layer of sausage, and increased the eggs to 8. I also made a second dish using vegan sausage for my vegetarian daughter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I use this recipe every Christmas morning. I have gotten a more souffle-like result by covering it for 40 minutes and uncovering it for 15. I alternate red & green bell pepper rings on top to make it more festive and add a little extra flavor. It bakes and rests while we open gifts. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FEEDTHEFLOCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This recipe is awesome and a new Christmas breakfast tradition circa 2011!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Great recipe! this has became are Christmas morning favorite. So easy to make.The only change I made wad to add a little onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I made this and everyone seemed to like it! I did tweak it a bit as follows: I used the sage flavored pork sausage, 6 oz. of leftover cubed hamburger buns, the cheddar, 7 eggs instead of 6, half and half instead of milk, 1/2 t. salt, the ground mustard and a pinch or two of cayenne pepper. I also sautéed 3-4 sliced green onions and one minced clove of garlic in 1/2 T. butter and added that to the egg mixture. Mine baked up beautifully and tested done after 40-45 minutes. This is a great basic recipe that you can change up to your liking. I’m sure I’ll be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
So yummy! Everyone loved it! And it was so easy to make. Highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
After being treated to this dish a few times by a very generous co-worker bringing it in to celebrate various events, I finally made one myself and DARN IT, it is SO EASY and delicious. Jimmy Dean has a bag of pre-cooked, pre-crumbled sausage bits which cuts down on the preparation even more so (and cuts down on the dishes!). I didn't even cube the bread, I just layered it on the bottom, no difference! Next time I'm definitely trying nicely seasoned croutons (Texas Toast brand are AMAZING!) and maybe changing up the meat/cheese combo. Thank you LISAJANI for this one! =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thebakedbaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Verona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Very good...I used an 8X8 pan but would not next time. It was a little thick. I also didn't let it set overnight, just for a few hours, and that seemed to work! Used turkey breakfast sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Easy Quiche

A delicious, quick-and-easy quiche with broccoli, ham, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States