Easy Sausage Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
09/05: Love, love, love this recipe! It was so eay to make, even when I had to change it to accomodate 100 people! I made several: a few following the recipe exactly; a few with ham and swiss cheese; a few with sausage, caramelized onions, and mushrooms; and one with spinach and the caramelized mushrooms and onions. I made them all ahead of time and let them sit in my refrigerator (always helps to have a second one!) and although transporting them wasn't easy, cooking them was! I had to extend the time in a commercial oven because of the number I had, but other than that, they were a hit! I cooked up some sausage links on the side and also had a tray of caramelized onions and mushrooms if people wanted any on the side. For something quick, hot, and tasty -- you cannot go wrong with this recipe! 5/3/09: If at possible, I think I might have even improved on this recipe, a family favorite at our house. I was making this last night and discovered I was short on eggs. What to do? I searched fridge and found ricotta cheese. Followed the recipe exactly using Jimmy Dean Hot & Spicy sausage, some rosemary foccacia bread that had started to get a little stale, which I cubed, 4 eggs, and 1/2 cup of the ricotta cheese. Everything else was the same. I let it sit overnight in the fridge and cooked it in the morning. A total hit and my husband said he couldn't believe how creamy it was. Nice change, but true to the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
833 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
This was VERY easy and very good. I used the basic recipe however I made a few changes. Instead of Italian sausage I used Pepper Jack Turkey sausage that I chopped. I also used pre sliced French bread (it was not thick sliced) and didn't cube it. I lined a 9x13 dish w/the bread, topped w/the chopped sausage and sauteed green onions and 1/2 of the egg mix then another layer of bread and finished w/the rest of the egg mix and topped with cheese. The slices gave it a very pretty, uniform look and it ended up being like a stuffed, savory french toast - YUM! It was all gone but one piece that I ate later! I can recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
481 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Wonderful morning comfort food! Made two versions for Christmas morning ... sausage & chedder and ham & swiss. The ham/swiss was the overwhelming favorite! The sausage & cheddar was good but tasted a lot like pizza. Only modification I made to the recipe was using slightly more bread (husband's preference). Making it again tomorrow, this time with bacon & a mix of cheddar & jack cheeses since that's what I have on hand. Easy way to use up day-old bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
331 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I wanted to make this breakfast dish because I fondly remember one of my friends' mothers making it --this recipe did not disappoint. I made it exactly as the recipe was written, and did not find that it was too salty or runny, as some reviewers reported. It was exactly what I hoped for: a very filling, comforting dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parsonsperson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
we made this recipe for a New Year's treat and, a treat it was! followed the recipe as was EXCEPT instead of the bread slices, cubed...we used Marzetti Garlic & Butter flavored Caesar Croutons & it was delicious! this is definitely a keeper and oh, so easy! the other difference; we used an 8 x 8 baking dish instead of the 7 x 11...was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
Very good. I suggest adding sauteed onions, subbing seasoning salt for salt, adding pepper. Also, hubby likes the addition of mushrooms and peppers. To accomplish that I split the mixture up to two 8x8 pans. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Very easy and delicious recipe. I used whole slices of bread instead of cubing them, and substituted turkey ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Great recipe. Can substitute with bacon and add spinach for a little different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Really easy to make and tasted great, but I thought it was a tad salty - not sure if it depends on the sausage you use or if it always tastes like this. My husband loved it and didn't mind the salty flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
Nice recipe! I added onions and mushrooms and all my guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Bend, Kansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Easy Quiche

A delicious, quick-and-easy quiche with broccoli, ham, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States