Easy Sausage Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I made this and everyone seemed to like it! I did tweak it a bit as follows: I used the sage flavored pork sausage, 6 oz. of leftover cubed hamburger buns, the cheddar, 7 eggs instead of 6, half and half instead of milk, 1/2 t. salt, the ground mustard and a pinch or two of cayenne pepper. I also sautéed 3-4 sliced green onions and one minced clove of garlic in 1/2 T. butter and added that to the egg mixture. Mine baked up beautifully and tested done after 40-45 minutes. This is a great basic recipe that you can change up to your liking. I’m sure I’ll be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
So yummy! Everyone loved it! And it was so easy to make. Highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
After being treated to this dish a few times by a very generous co-worker bringing it in to celebrate various events, I finally made one myself and DARN IT, it is SO EASY and delicious. Jimmy Dean has a bag of pre-cooked, pre-crumbled sausage bits which cuts down on the preparation even more so (and cuts down on the dishes!). I didn't even cube the bread, I just layered it on the bottom, no difference! Next time I'm definitely trying nicely seasoned croutons (Texas Toast brand are AMAZING!) and maybe changing up the meat/cheese combo. Thank you LISAJANI for this one! =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thebakedbaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Verona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Very good...I used an 8X8 pan but would not next time. It was a little thick. I also didn't let it set overnight, just for a few hours, and that seemed to work! Used turkey breakfast sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
minus the bread on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I used leftover cream for part of the milk and added chopped APPLES and LEEKS and everyone LOVED it!!! I think I'll try the suggestion of carmelized onions next time! YUM!!!!! (Nobody noticed that I didn't have any dry mustard either)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
My family liked this breakfast casserole. I liked that I made it up the day ahead. The only change I made was the cheese - used co-jack as that is what I had on hand. Heated up great as leftovers the next morning. Thanks Lisajani for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Did not enjoy at all. It was a soggy, mushy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Delicious! I made 3 different options. From reading the other posts I made some changes. The first was sausage I added camelized onions. I then did the next with ham, sauteed mushrooms, carmelized onions and swiss and cheddar. The third was mushroom, and 4 cheeses adding Ricotta as suggested, cheddar swiss and mozzarella. All three were great, but the sausage was the most popular. Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Because of how simply easy and the low amount of ingredients I gave this a 5. My family just never likes these things and I just was not at all hungry so it didn't go over well, but wasn't the recipes fault. People that love stratas would probably give it a five also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States