Easy Sausage Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This was really good. I used plain old white bread because that's all we had - I think it would be a lot better with a crustier, more seasoned bread. Next time I will try a french baguette bread that is pre-seasoned. I also did not refrigerate - I'm not sure what benefit this would provide. It turned out fine without the refrigeration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
The entire family liked it, will definitely make again for an easy and delicious breakfast. Was as easy as it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Just the recipe base I was looking for. Perfect for some stale wheat sandwich bread I found in the freezer. Cut bread into cubes while frozen makes it very easy. I used link sausage (removed from casings) because that's what I had on hand. This dish was a big hit at work, baked in a foil 11x7 pan and no clean-up. I can see all kinds of possibilities for variations in the future, but you really can't go wrong with the basic recipe either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GULFTRADE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moses Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I used sliced bagette from the grocery store day old shelf. It was already sliced thin, and therefore pretty dry. It worked great. For one pan I cut the slices into fourths, and I think the consistency when baked was better, those smaller pieces "puffed" even better than the slices. I got the sausage really brown which looked so appealing when the final dish came out of the oven. I used a tube of spicy suasage, sliced into rounds. When the sausage was done I cut the rounds into six pieces so no knives would be required at brunch. I let it sit in the refrigerator for about three hours before baking. It took an hour to bake. Everyone lived it, big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wondermom
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
When I told my family we were having strata for Christmas breakfast they were very skeptical (it's not part of the tradition). We now have a new, delicious tradition! I added sautéed mushrooms and onions to the layer of sausage, and increased the eggs to 8. I also made a second dish using vegan sausage for my vegetarian daughter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I use this recipe every Christmas morning. I have gotten a more souffle-like result by covering it for 40 minutes and uncovering it for 15. I alternate red & green bell pepper rings on top to make it more festive and add a little extra flavor. It bakes and rests while we open gifts. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FEEDTHEFLOCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This recipe is awesome and a new Christmas breakfast tradition circa 2011!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Great recipe! this has became are Christmas morning favorite. So easy to make.The only change I made wad to add a little onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I made this and everyone seemed to like it! I did tweak it a bit as follows: I used the sage flavored pork sausage, 6 oz. of leftover cubed hamburger buns, the cheddar, 7 eggs instead of 6, half and half instead of milk, 1/2 t. salt, the ground mustard and a pinch or two of cayenne pepper. I also sautéed 3-4 sliced green onions and one minced clove of garlic in 1/2 T. butter and added that to the egg mixture. Mine baked up beautifully and tested done after 40-45 minutes. This is a great basic recipe that you can change up to your liking. I’m sure I’ll be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
So yummy! Everyone loved it! And it was so easy to make. Highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Mom's Breakfast Strata

A savory strata with ham, mushrooms, peppers, and melted Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States