Easy Sausage Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
When I told my family we were having strata for Christmas breakfast they were very skeptical (it's not part of the tradition). We now have a new, delicious tradition! I added sautéed mushrooms and onions to the layer of sausage, and increased the eggs to 8. I also made a second dish using vegan sausage for my vegetarian daughter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I use this recipe every Christmas morning. I have gotten a more souffle-like result by covering it for 40 minutes and uncovering it for 15. I alternate red & green bell pepper rings on top to make it more festive and add a little extra flavor. It bakes and rests while we open gifts. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FEEDTHEFLOCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This recipe is awesome and a new Christmas breakfast tradition circa 2011!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Great recipe! this has became are Christmas morning favorite. So easy to make.The only change I made wad to add a little onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I made this and everyone seemed to like it! I did tweak it a bit as follows: I used the sage flavored pork sausage, 6 oz. of leftover cubed hamburger buns, the cheddar, 7 eggs instead of 6, half and half instead of milk, 1/2 t. salt, the ground mustard and a pinch or two of cayenne pepper. I also sautéed 3-4 sliced green onions and one minced clove of garlic in 1/2 T. butter and added that to the egg mixture. Mine baked up beautifully and tested done after 40-45 minutes. This is a great basic recipe that you can change up to your liking. I’m sure I’ll be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
So yummy! Everyone loved it! And it was so easy to make. Highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
After being treated to this dish a few times by a very generous co-worker bringing it in to celebrate various events, I finally made one myself and DARN IT, it is SO EASY and delicious. Jimmy Dean has a bag of pre-cooked, pre-crumbled sausage bits which cuts down on the preparation even more so (and cuts down on the dishes!). I didn't even cube the bread, I just layered it on the bottom, no difference! Next time I'm definitely trying nicely seasoned croutons (Texas Toast brand are AMAZING!) and maybe changing up the meat/cheese combo. Thank you LISAJANI for this one! =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thebakedbaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Verona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Very good...I used an 8X8 pan but would not next time. It was a little thick. I also didn't let it set overnight, just for a few hours, and that seemed to work! Used turkey breakfast sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
minus the bread on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I used leftover cream for part of the milk and added chopped APPLES and LEEKS and everyone LOVED it!!! I think I'll try the suggestion of carmelized onions next time! YUM!!!!! (Nobody noticed that I didn't have any dry mustard either)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States