Easy Sausage Pizza by Johnsonville® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This was a very simple pizza recipe, but, very flavorful using Johnsonville sausage! The italian sausage really kicked it up a knotch. I prefer fresh dough, so, I did use that compared to a precooked crust. I go to my local pizza parlor and buy a roll of unbaked dough for around $ 3.00. It is a great time saver like using a prebaked crust, but, more flavorful. I prebake for 3-5 minutes before adding the toppings. I was a little nervous about topping with fresh sausage, so, I precooked it about 50% of way through before adding it to the pizza. It turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Lin-DUH
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I used Johnsonville HOT Italian sausage and it was delicious -- I highly recommend it for putting on your pizza. The only reason I am rating this recipe down is because it's not a good idea to put the uncooked sausage on your pizza. Although it came out fully cooked (which was one of my concerns), it also made the pizza very, very greasy. For better results, I definitely suggest browning the sausage lightly first and draining off the grease. I also think the whole package of sausage is a bit much for a 12-inch pizza, and I'm a meat lover. Overall, I will definitely add Johnsonville hot Italian sausage to pizza in the future, but this recipe needs some tweaking before it can be a five-star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
This was fabulous! I did not prebake my crust; I just used a thin crust pizza and precooked the sausage, then sliced into rounds. Added some mushrooms and onions just because they were there. 10 minutes on the middle rack and 2 on the bottom rack. FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Photo by ibbz
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I used the Johnsonville All Natural Mild Italian Sausage pinched into little pieces and it cooked perfectly on pizza, in other words, NO need to precook. Nice balance of flavor, a little spice and very little grease. No complaints from anyone in house. Will be using Johnsonville for our homemade pizzas from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Sausage on pizza is great! I was leary of using raw sausage. So, I used some Johnsonville meatballs I made the other day that needed the spices and flavorings upped for my taste. I warmed them up and crumbled them in a bowl and added minced garlic, hot pepper flakes, Italian seasonings, garlic powder, sea salt, and olive oil. I sprinkled them on the pizza and followed through with the recipe. I baked it in my NuWave oven to save time. Only reason why I didn't post it as 5 stars, as I didn't care much for the pre-made crust. Definitely consider making homemade dough. I also made my own pizza sauce and probably used half the amount suggested and it was plenty. Quick meal anyhow! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by CafeAmericano
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Definitely making again, followed recipe exactly except I made my own pizza crust from the quick and easy pizza crust recipe on this site. Delicious and easy to make. Cost about $10. Every bit as good as pizza from a delivery restaurant, except better because it is homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CafeAmericano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Batesville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Johnsonville sausage is amazing on pizza! I used Johnsonville HOT Italian sausage links. I also added onion, zucchini and tomatoes to our pizza because we love vegetables. Our friends said that the sausage was AMAZING on pizza. Thanks Johnsonville!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Camano Island, Washington, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I like to make pizza on the grill to get the brick oven flavor, so I used the “Grill Dough” on this site. Because the baking time would be less than if I baked it in the oven, I crumbled and browned the sausage before adding it to the pizza. I also added sautéed sliced onion and sun-dried tomatoes. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This was so good an so very easy to make. Great for those busy days when you need a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Chef John's Sausage and Egg Pizza

A spicy pizza topped with hot Italian sausage, eggs, and arugula.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States