Easy Sausage Gravy and Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I give this recipe a 5 star my kids absolutely loves this recipe when my sons football team comes over for breakfast they always ask for this. Very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Easy and absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Ever since I started using this recipe years ago, I can't eat anyone else's biscuits and gravy (neither can my kids!) Be prepared to increase the quantity if you have extra people, many will want seconds! Also, stick with Jimmy Dean, (I use the raw ground kind in a tube, HOT is great!) whenever I try a different sausage, I always regret it! I also like to add a couple Tablespoons of butter before the flour. If you're like me and only have skim milk in the fridge, you can add a can of FF evaporated milk to make it creamier! I sometimes make huge batches for big camping parties, Just make at home, freeze in gallon ziplocs and reheat at the campsite (take a big bag of pre-baked bisuits). Good over scrambled eggs too! Tabasco or Cayenne is a nice condiment for me! Try these, you'll find out that it's easy to make gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is a great basic Sausage and Gravy! My husband grew up eating this stuff and introduced it to me about 10 years ago. It is a family staple now. A note on the gravy: DO NOT DRAIN THE SAUSAGE. You need the grease inorder to bring the gravy together, adding butter will drastically change the flavor. We use red pepper flakes and toss it in as the sausage is cooking. You can also use the "hot" flavored sausage to get an extra layer of flavor. Make sure that you completly stir in the flour and alow it to cook with the sausage and grease for a minute or two before addin the milk, this will take out any "pastey taste". Add the milk slowly, I have used skim, 1%, all the way to cream, usually whatever I have on hand. I have found that the less fat your milk has, the less milk you will need to create the gravy! Great on biscuts, toast, cornbread, mashed potatoes, and more...yummmm :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
395 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I've found this recipe years ago and whenever I make it I am engulfed in compliments. Simple, easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is identicle to the recipe my father has made for years! Quick and easy - I would rather eat this than any other recipe out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftygrl76

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cold Spring, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Erlanger, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This has been one of my favorite recipes for years! My mom used to make biscuits and gravy like this for me as a kid, and gave me the recipe so I can make them myself a few years back. Now I make it at least a couple times a month :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is exactly how I have been making it and my husband and I love it. Caution... eating biscuits and gravy at resturants will not taste as good anymore. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by porsche

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Made this for breakfast and it was a big hit with the husband and daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Instead of using the sausage crumbles, I cook a roll of JD Sausage. I've used the rest of the ingredients as listed and it's the best biscuits and gravy! Very easy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Butterfly1789

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Sausage Pasta

A simple and quick weeknight pasta with sausage, tomatoes, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States