Easy Sausage Cheese Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Tastes amazing!! 1. The key to this recipe is to grate your own cheese. The fresh cheddar cheese has oils in it that give the sausage balls moisture. 2. The other key is to make sure you mix the baking mix into the sausage BEFORE adding the cheese or the mix coats the cheese. There is not too much mix for this recipe, just be patient when incorporating. Use your hands and squeeze and twist. 3. The last thing, just don't overcook. We used a kitchen thermometer to test ours until they came out perfect temp and now we know how many minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
As others have noted, this recipe yields a very dry product. It was close to impossible to get all of the baking mix incorporated into the dough. But bullheadedness and/or perseverance came to my rescue. I don't think the ratios are as off as some have stated. I do agree with the person who said that these sausage balls were better the next day. Hot out of the oven, they had little flavor. But I tried one later in the evening and was quite impressed! I think I will try making these again with one simple adjustment. I will reduce the baking mix by a half cup. Anything more and you may as well make a meatball. These should be more like a hush puppy. Reluctantly, I give these a 4 star. They probably deserve a 3 star. One last thing. I think They would also benefit from some chopped scallion and/or roasted chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doc Simonson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I have used this recipe time and time again and it is a huge crowd pleaser!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I made this recipe today using the ingredients as listed and they turned out great. The secret is to use room temperature hot Jimmy Dean Sausage and room temperature finely grated sharp cheddar cheese. I use a large bowl so I can really mix it and squeeze the ingredients together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewisville, Texas, USA
Photo by Cbcunnane
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I used 1lb johnsonville sausage, 3 cups cheddar, 2 cups baking mix and then threw in some chopped onion and a few dashes of hot sauce for some more moisture and kick. They turned out great! My husband loves them for breakfast :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I agree with everyone else. WAY to much baking mix in this recipe. I had to send my husband to the store for more sausage so this mixture didn't go to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Should have read the reviews first. The proportions of the recipe are WAY off. I followed it exactly and had a TON of baking mix and cheese left over. Added a second pound of sausage to it, still didn't use up all the mix. Probably get a way with 1 cup of mix and 1-2 cups of cheese to the 1lb of sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Burns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I agree with Navy_Mommy, too much Bisquick. Will go with her suggestion next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
For those who say there is way too much baking mix in this recipe and they could not incorporate it, I had the same problem. I added some milk so the mix would not be so dry and I could incorporate it in with the sausage and cheese. It gave more of a biscuit quality to the sausage cheese balls, which was ok with me as an appetizer. Everyone ate them without any complaints; none were left. If you don't want to add milk, you just have to work more at smashing all the dough into balls, they will have a rather dry feel to them but the cheese will melt and make up for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Loved this recipe! My kids like to dip them in maple syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States