Easy Salmon Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
The first time I cooked this recipe, I found it decent but a little bland. On second time I substituted a pound of fresh salmon, poached, for the canned and threw 2 tsps "Old Bay Seasoning" (available in most grocery stores) in the mixture, and found that this worked wonders!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I found the original recipe a little bland and dry, but the ideas this recipe spawned lead me to this. I substituted fresh salmon that I pulsed in the food processor; (to form small chunks) used fresh bread crumbs along with a couple of tsps of Old Bay. The cakes I made were thin,(like 6 oz hamburger patties) so the salmon would cook before they browned too much. I cooked them using half butter and oil. It imparts a little better flavor then oil alone. They were extremely moist!!! I've used two sauces: first, I tried a dill flavored Hollandaise. Quite nice. Next, I made a Brown Butter and found the nutty flavor worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
These will 'set up' nicely if they are refrigerated for an hour before cooking. A wonderful way to use that bit of left-over barbecued salmon after your fishing trip! Our family of 'picky' seafood eaters...love this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
OOPs I left out the lemon juice, but it was really GOOD. I will use this recipe from now on, I will try the lemon juice next time. The only other thing I changed is I cooked it in olive oil cooking spray. Not the Great buttery flavor, but a small sacrifice for low calorie/fat. Thank You for sharing. rhkatz3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
Had to increase to 12 servings for my large family but went over VERY well. I had to limit the children or all else would have been forgotten save the salmon cakes! I fried in Olive oil and the flavor was great. I also mixed it all in the processor and saved another dirty dish, adding salmon at the very last and pulsing only a bit. Definitely a new family standard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2000
Just add white sauce with green onions in the sauce. This was really delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
Excellent recipe. I only used half the dill as others suggested and it's good advice. You taste the dill but it's not overpowering. Makes a light, healthy, and satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2001
Good. I had no parsley so substituded a combination lemon/dill seasoning(1/8c);omitting dill weed. Same thing but different!Very tasty recipe! cfrombc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Ok running through this recipe it's a very delicate balance between dry and liquid ingredients that can be thrown off by a number of things. They type of salmon, the size of eggs, butter vs margerine, dry herbs vs fresh herbs, fresh bread crumbs vs dry bread crumbs, even the size of bread crumbs and chopped herbs. Here's what I did. Using 3 small cans of boneless, skinless sockeye salmon undrained, adding all 2 cups of dry bread crumbs(didn't bread them), 2 large eggs, 1 tsp dried dillweed, 1tbl dried parsley, 1tbl dried onion powder, 1tbl lemon juice, 3 tbl margerine. Really work these into a patty. I browned them in a frying pan. When you drop it in the pan push it around alot so they don't stick even with oil in the pan. I finished them off in the oven on parchment paper for 10 minutes at 350 degrees. My 2.5 yr old ate these and enjoyed it. Next time I will try some sort of dill sauce for them for the adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Martin Turley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: East York, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
this was easy to fix.i would cut the dill in haft the next time,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Easy Mustard-Glazed Broiled Salmon

Just a couple basic ingredients can make broiled salmon amazing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States